Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Great location in town. Stayed in a private room. The in-room facilities are clean and modern. Wifi not so reliable. Restaurant and bar downstairs good for a cheap feed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Hull, UK

Good central location

Posted Sep 13, 2017
We stayed one night at Base Wanaka. We booked a private en-suite room. The hostel has good facilities and our room was comfy. We paid extra $4 for cereal and coffee for breakfast which was fine. The hostel had free wifi in the reception area from 7am to 7pm, other than that you had to pay. It looked like to hostel was also good at arranging any trips etc although we did not use this option. Overall, fine for one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Wotif
The experience was great, staff were all happy and helpful. Met a lot of people, and all friendly. The night club was going off, and didn't notice the noise from the room. Thanks for the experience!! Would recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Louise, Hotel Management
Hey! Many thanks for taking your time to review our hostel! We're really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Base Wanaka! We hope if you came back to Wanaka you would return to stay with us. Kind regards, Base Wanaka
4 out of 5
by Krista

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place but there was no cleaning in room

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Good place but bedroom was not clean bedsheets were not washed
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Very basic, very noisy

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Relatively cheap. Close to everything.
Cons: New sheets/bedding. Some cosmetic repairs.
Location: Location is fantastic, but very noisy given it is situated above a bar/nightclub and next to New World supermarket.
My room was okay - a private room with "King bed" (two singles pushed together does not a king bed make), and ensuite. My main complaint is the noise. Situated on top of Mint Bar and backing on to the New World car park, it is very difficult to get a good night's sleep. Kitchen is pretty gross. It might be alright if you get there really early but later on is rather icky, but I think that's probably more to do with the people using it than anything else, though, I did hear some of the other backpackers commenting that it was the worst kitchen they had ever used, facility-wise. Mattress protector and pillows were stained :( Overall, I've done this place two years in a row now (travelling for the Contact Epic mountain bike race) and i think I'll be booking six months in advance to get somewhere a bit better.
2 out of 5
by Ka Yin

Small triple room for quick stop over

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Dont expect a big room. It is a backpacker but the triple room with ensuite was good for a quick night stay. Fire alarm went off at 3am and had to evacuate due to someones imaturity.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Smack in the middle of town, great location with awesome prices and ample parking. It was very loud though and too much of a party atmosphere, no hot water at all and the staff seemed rather nonchalant about any problems that guests brought to their attention though. Good price and very comfy bed on the other hand, despite negatives I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Cons: The check in time is too long.
Wanaka is the perfect place to go swimming in the lake, or just take a walk.