Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, United States of America

Great location with a Japanese touch

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Japanese innkeeper and Japanese home style meals
Cons: Great just as it is
Location: Lake Wanaka is an easy walk and the lodge has great views from the terrace
I stayed in Wanaka on my way from Dunedin to Mt Cook. I chose to stay there because of reviews I had read on Expedia. The hotel was immaculate and innkeeper Hirose and his wife were extremely kind and attentive. The room was very comfortable and I really enjoyed the reading room/library and terrace. One of the highlights was the Japanese dinner and breakfast that I enjoyed. I called ahead to order the Japanese meals and Mr Hirose advised me that they did not have a liquor license and I should bring my own beverages. I had previously lived in Japan and studied Japanese language and the Hiroses gave me ample opportunity to practice. The lodge was wonderfully quiet and peaceful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BOI

Quiet location yet short walk to the lakefront

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Quiet location yet close to the town and lakefront
Cons: If possible put decent sound insulation in the walls!!!
Location: As mentioned, short walk to lakefront and restaurants. Wanaka is a wonderful place to visit - a must to do is visit Puzzling World.
Very restful stay, this place has very good amenities yet is close to the lakefront and restaurants. It is a pity when the lodge was built that more sound proofing was put in the walls as the first night the guests in the room next door kept us awake till after 1am just using the shower.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice 2-BR Unit about one mile from downtown

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Pros: Spacious and clean. Hot tub worked.
Location: Lake Wanaka itself was beautiful--and chilly, but not cold enough to stop us from going for a swim in late January.
Unit was comfortable and clean. In fact, its only major drawback was that it wasn't within reasonable walking distance of downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NZ

Good location, clean modern room

Posted Feb 9, 2016
This is a nice place to stay, can't fault it at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW Australia

Quiet, clean,friendly, great food

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Clean, friendly staff always available if needed, quiet and within walking distance to town, parking good car very safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tweed Heads Australia

Quiet, clean, great food , close walk to everythin

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Manager very helpful and always available to fix any problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

excellent accommodation close to town centre

Posted Feb 19, 2015
lodge was excellent and extremely clean with excellent presentation. The hosts catered for breakfast and dinner if required. Would highly reccommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

modern hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Location: well positioned and in walking distance to the centre of town. Restricted view of the lake.
Smaller room, no cooking or breakfast facilities but serves breakfast and dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Close to Town.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Cons: The TV signal could be improved and the TV too.
Overall was a good experience was very clean and warm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Manly, NSW Australia

Great Hotel - quick stroll to centre of town.

Posted Jan 27, 2014
This was my fourth time to Wanaka and by far the best hotel. Very clean, close to the centre of town and reasonably new. What more can you ask for. Free internet was only available from the communal living room which was fine for me but may be an issue for others. Otherwise faultess.