Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2018
Excellent, perfect location and very friendly staff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No air con, No screens

Posted Jan 28, 2018
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Ensure the rooms are comfortable in all weather conditions. Air con is the best option but screens and a nice fan go a long way!
We really wanted to like this hotel, great location and staff. The reason for the bad rating is there is no air conditioner or screens on the doors/windows. Having one of those would have been great. We had 80 degree days when we were there and the room was a sauna which did not cool down till midnight. We had to open all the doors and windows to get a breeze through which also invited in all kinds of bugs - which ended up biting us all night! It was just a miserable place to sleep. If your visiting in winter you'll be fine, but think twice about staying here in the summer. If I would have known these facts before hand I would not have stayed here. I really hope management fixes this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2018 by Peter and Jenny Sutherland, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. This is only the second summer we have owned The Moorings. Last summer was windy and cold. This summer has been an average 5 degrees C hotter than normal and all the motels in Wanaka have the same problem. We have recognised since before Christmas the need for air conditioning and this will be installed for next summer. Wanaka does not have biting insects so it may be you have encountered these elsewhere in NZ.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Great location cool people very helpful excellent cleaning staff, bathrooms could do with a little tlc, noisy heat pump but needed it upstairs as was so hot. Still great place to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Great view, clean room, hotel staff was very friendly. This is very conveniently located a short walk from the center of town. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our Favorite Lodgings

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Our apartment was fabulous. We are an American family that travelled in NZ for 16 days and this was our favorite property. The beds were great. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The host was warm and personable and gave us some excellent recommendations for what to do in our time in Wanaka. Before the trip I was apprehensive about staying at small family run properties. In the US these sort of places are usually not very nice. The opposite was true in NZ. Our best experiences were in small family run lodging. I encourage you to get to know the country by booking in these sort of properties.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2018 by Peter and Jenny Sutherland, Hotel Management
Thank you. We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us in Wanaka.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delray Beach, Fl

Nice serviced apartment overlooking the lake

Posted Dec 6, 2017
One night stay. Used the guest laundry and ate in town. Very convenient. Friendly helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: Location & view
Cons: Air conditioner
Location: Wanaka is a great town with heaps of activities to do on & off the lake.
Accommodation is right in town & overlooks the lake, easy to find, walking distance to shops & restaurants with a nice balcony to enjoy the lake & mountain views. Good value & great service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

nice lodging in town

Posted Nov 19, 2017
We stayed in newly refurbished unit 9 in this nice managed condo complex. It was a comfortable 1 BR apt., and the managers and staff were very helpful. We wish the unit had a view, and parking was a challenge, but overall a good choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toowoomba, Australia

More than expected at The Moorings

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Clean, comfortable with everything you could need. Easy parking right outside
Perfect room in a perfect location. Wonderful view of beautiful Lake. Close to restaurants & shops. Very comfortable room with everything you need. Ducks came visiting past front door. Beautiful cat also came visiting!
5 out of 5
by Nicola

Posted Nov 4, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful place to stay, very welcoming when checking in. Very nice and comfortable inside, beautiful views. Would defiantly recommend to all, will stay again.