Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great little spot

Posted Jun 14, 2018
Was very convenient to town and the local eating spots. The manager was very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Facilities near center of town

Posted Apr 25, 2018
Stayed in apartments for 4 nights with family - incredibly closed to center of town and waterfront yet quiet and peaceful with spectacular views from deck across lake. Facilities spotless and perfect for family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Convenient, clean, quiet, comfortable, Great lake

Posted Apr 4, 2018
Pros: Location, cleanliness, quiet
This motel has lots of parking on-site, has a fantastic lake view, is right next to restaurants, shops and hotels. The room is very quiet from traffic noise and neighbouring motel guests. It is the perfect stay in Wanaka ! We stayed on two separate nights as we used Wanaka as a stopover rest point. Both rooms were very clean. The lake view motel room does have a very good view of the lake. In fact, the lake is on the other side of the road where there's a spacious park. The door even opens onto a patio where you can sit and enjoy the view. It's very quiet and there's no traffic noise nor noise from the neighbouring rooms. The private apartment we were allocated had no lake view, but was very spacious. We enjoyed a clear night and could see the milky way from the BBQ area in front! The private apartment also sports its own parking spot. Very convenient. Both rooms had microwave and full range of cutlery. It's a solid, dependable mid range property and Peter gave us very accurate estimates of drive times to different destinations from Wanaka.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Beautiful Views of the Lake.

Posted Mar 27, 2018
Pros: Location and Clean and Nice
Cons: na
Location: na
We had a great stay. Excellent Location. Close to town. Nice lounge at the property to enjoy the awesome lake view. Parking at the property.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2018
Pros: Staff is really nice Quite, lovely place to stay
Cons: The huge lit Moorings billboard right in front of the room 1 is a eye sore
We stayed here for 2 nights and it is a lovely place to stay, the rooms that face the lake have a beautiful view except room 1, which has the huge lit Moorings billboard right in front of the room(which is annoying). And as the sun sets the billboard lights up! The room is well equipped, really clean and within walking distance of the city center/ pubs/restaurants/super market etc etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Prefect location great accommodation

Posted Mar 8, 2018 on Ebookers
Great apartment with helpful staff very clean. Lon the edge of the lake fantastic views and just a few yard into town with bars restaurants and shops.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2018 on Hotels
Surprised to find that the apartment was not air conditioned and also no fans were provided in the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Wonderful accommodation, great lake views

Posted Mar 2, 2018
Pros: Everything
Location: Great location on the edge of the town centre and lakeside.
Room was beautifully furnished, modern but homely and comfortable. Well equipped. Stunning lake views from small private patio adjoining room. Spotlessly clean. Peter and Jenny are great hosts, friendly and welcoming. Very central location, just a few minutes walk to all the town centre shops, cafes and restaurants. Felt like home away from home. Will happily stay at The Moorings again next time I visit Wanaka.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south coast, NSW

Relaxing stay in a great location

Posted Feb 20, 2018 on Wotif
We were so pleased with our stay here. The room had everything we needed and was so comfortable. We especially liked being able to cook a meal on the little bbq and sit on the deck with a view of the lake! The staff were very friendly and had great recommendations for how to make the most of our time in Wanaka. Thank You!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well worth the stay at this one ☝️

Posted Feb 20, 2018 on Hotels
Had a wonderful stay at The Moorings , lovely view from the room and balcony , friendly staff , comfortable bed, and great location .