Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little gem

Posted Apr 12, 2018
This little hotel is fabulous. It has the best food. I stayed there a few years ago and again this week. The transformation downstairs is amazing. The bedroom was comfortable, but the cleaner could do a better job of dusting and vacuuming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Alternative to Premier Inn

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: Value, character and restaurant
Cons: Shower rather than jacuzzi in the en suite.
Location: Was staying on business so didn’t have time to sight see.
Booked this hotel whilst on a business trip. Premier Inn/Travel lodge wanting silly money then found this gem. More character than the chain hotels, great restaurant, friendly staff and great value. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by Jean

Lovely Building

Posted Nov 6, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely building.Breakfast was delicious and nothing was to much trouble.
4 out of 5
by Sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dirty tired en suite, broken parts on shower

Posted Oct 21, 2017 on Hotels
en suite shower very dirty, grouting very dirty, shower had broken parts on it and drinks at the bar very expensive. The room looked tired but room was comfortable.
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Nicola

Good, clean and nice restaurant

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
Everyone was very nice. The food was very good and the room was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Half board is a great idea as there is no where to go to eat close to the hotel.
Cons: Decor in room a bit dated.
Location: Nothing close by
We booked a one night stay. Was disappointed by check in time of 5pm literally had time to check in and get ready for dinner would have preferred time to relax! Hotel room comfortable and staff friendly. We booked half board which was a bonus. Food in restaurant was delicious and we paid the extra for the meal. I do think a bottle of Sauvignon blanc a bit pricey. Breakfast was good.
1 out of 5
by Jackie

The worst experience ever

Posted Oct 12, 2017 on Hotels
We couldn't get into the room until 5pm. We weren't told we would be in the annex which was a separate out building- this was awful It was very dark - you couldn't close the bathroom door without difficulty-there was no shower- there was a sheet and itchy blanket on the bed - very old fashioned- the handle on the entry door was extremely stiff - challenging to open. The breakfast was shocking-the omelette was uncocked - the full English breakfast was the worst we'd ever had - sausage uncooked - bacon over cooked. The hotel was closed during the day - only contactable by phone We only stayed one night instead as it was so bad
5 out of 5
by John

Business trip

Posted Sep 29, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent food very friendly staff big room only small comment room was a little tired - bit of plaster was loose and could have done with lick of paint. I would gladly stay here again