Ratings based on 1,592 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Great staff, refreshing decore

Posted Dec 3, 2017
With the trend in decline worker values it is refreshing to come into a hotel where the staff honestly care about what they are doing and the guests they serve. Great staff, great hotel, it is nice to finde a hotel that does not look like every other hotel I have stayed in. The same...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hospitality plus

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Kimmie and Tia went way above superior service is making our visit easier. Four seniors , one with mobility and health problems, were treated with utmost respect and care. They gave us special care at every turn to make things easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

don't come for the wifi!

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Great location, walked everywhere, super friendly and helpful staff, terrible terrible (virtually unusable) wifi. Room was small but very comfortable bed. No bathtub which won't matter to many. I'd stay again but walk to fast food location for free wifi.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beltsville, MD

Old Hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2017
The lobby furniture is old and faded. The hallway floor needs painting,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2017
The hotel itself was very quiet. I was disappointed to discover upon arrival that they do not have a parking garage. Parking is behind the hotel and outside on the street behind the hotel. So that meant we had to walk back to the hotel from our vehicle. Also, I was very concerned about the security of our vehicle because of them not having a garage. Needless to say, one of the tenants woke up Saturday morning and all four of her wheels were stolen from her car. I actually saw the car sitting without wheels. I do not reccommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great staff and location

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Staff, location and the concierge.
Cons: On site restaurant.
Location: Excellent transit and reasonably short walk to downtown,French Quarter, Bourbon Street and next to the WWII Museum.
Booking at the Hotel Modern was the best vacation decision I made. The price was more than reasonable, the staff was excellent and the concierge brought my trip to NOLA up a few levels. His knowledge and recommendations were exceptional. Did not expect this level of service for the cost. There were a few minor challenges during my stay, like I had to change rooms due to an electrical problem but really appreciated the room upgrade, Hotel Modern is in a great location for transportation as the streetcar is at the front door. There are numerous restaurants within walking distance but it would be nice if there was an on site restaurant. Breakfast is provided but I would have appreciated something evening. I the only real complaint I have with the location is that there were no grocery stores nearby, and being a diabetic, was trying to eat reasonably healthy, but the fruit provided for guests really helped. Would definitely recommend Hotel Modern if anyone was visiting New Orleans.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Educational conference

Posted Nov 25, 2017
I stayed for 4 days. The staff was great, the room was clean and had clean sheets on the bed. The room is small, I would have peferred a room with a tub because I had to walk to the convention center everyday. I didn't ask I just assumed every room had a tub. But it's a modern hotel base on style. Complementary breakfast everyday which was really nice, I wish the bread that they provided was fresh.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Hotel was far enough away from the noise of downtown but close enough to be able to walk to everything. I would recommend it to others.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Basic hotel, clean.

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Ebookers
Expensive to park close to hotel -$30 a day. Targeted by homeless/ beggars when walking to and from car park/ standing outside hotel. WiFi variable - couldn’t always get on. Tv remote intermittent working. Building work being done around the hotel. Muddy footprints around. Breakfast was help yourself on polystyrene plates, bowls and cups. It feels like nobody cares about your experience. Nothing tastes good eaten off polystyrene with plastic cutlery Lovely welcome from lady on front desk who worked 3-11 with good food recommendations on our first and second night. She’s the reason I gave better scores. Front desk lady for checkout also nice.