Ratings based on 965 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from illinois

very nice staff

Posted Jan 19, 2018
it was very nice and pleasant. the staff is wonderful . they go all out to help folks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2018
A nice hotel in a good area. The rooms were clean and comfortable - nothing fancy, but pleasing. Our only complaint was the wait time for our vehicle from valet parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In walking distance to quarter and superdome

Posted Jan 8, 2018
We checked into our hotel at 1:30am and they were extremely accommodating. Check in and check out smooth and there were plenty of towels and wash rags in the bathroom (which always seems to be a problem for us at other properties).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Catharines, ON

Classy Digs Close to Everything

Posted Dec 30, 2017
This was an excellent choice for our visit to New Orleans. Its central location only added to its suitability. Wish the shower had been a little bit hotter and stronger though!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint Bank theme, The Whitney is run down a bit

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Bed very comfortable, room simple , staff lovely though. Friendly. Breakfast was very basic, all disposables. Location great. We were happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well priced alternative in good location.

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Had a great stay at the Whitney great staff and very comfortable beds. Good sized room with options on tv. Gym was closed and the shower didn’t drain quickly while in use, breakfast was limited. Overall great location to access many tourist attractions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: large-ish room and bathroom
Cons: Everything that is noted in my review above!!
We had a very disappointing experience for the following reasons: our room faced a brick wall (1 foot away!), the air conditioning/heating was very noisy (even when 'off'), the bed was very uncomfortable (too springy, a bit like a trampoline), the shower was very poor, and the breakfast involved far too many plastic plates and cutlery (the hotel obviously doesn't care about the environmental issue of huge amounts of plastic in the ocean - why can't china plates etc be used instead?)
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2017 by Brian D. Davis, Hotel Management
Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you endured during your recent visit to New Orleans and The Hotel Whitney. I am appalled that we failed so poorly in our responsibility to you as our guest. There simply is no excuse for the inconveniences you experienced. Your comments have been brought to the attention of our Management for review. I hope you will reconsider your impression of us and allow us another opportunity to provide you the type of hospitality, ambiance and service upon which our reputation is established and which you have every right to expect. But to answer your question due to OSHA guidelines via 2015, all commercial establishments to provide any glassware, silverware, or china we must have a dish sanitizer on property and as we do not have a full service kitchen thats why we are unable to provide them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and convenient. TV terrible, staff good

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Nice and convenient location. TV terrible and need more vending. Staff good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mississippi

Great lcation

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: The staff at the front desk as excellent, esp Earl!!!
Cons: Could use some paint and refreshing. More thought and energy for breakfast and it would nice to have a bar.
Location: Close to everything
Older hotel that could use some refreshing. A/c worked ok, not really good. Single pane windows on Poydras, take some ear plugs. The staff was excellent. Earl makes me recommend a stay to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Breaux Bridge, La

Thanksgiving Bayou Classic Football Game

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Hotel was central to all activities - French Quarter, Bourbon Street, River Walk, Trolley Cars, the Superdome and St Charles.
Cons: Bellhop or Carts for rooms need to be updated and more of them need to be available for Guests because you have to get your luggage to your room.
Location: Explained above
Very nice weekend, lots of fun with comrades and university alumni.