Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

A quiet hotel close to stunning grounds

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Its proximity to Stourhead and to our forward journey
We booked this hotel as a break on our journey onwards to Devon. The welcome was good, our room excellent and the staff friendly and informative. We had a lovely walk, a drink in the courtyard followed by dinner. Nothing could have made our experience better. Thank you
5 out of 5
by Patrick

A Country Inn set in a Stately Home Garden.

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
One night stay for my wife and I following a relaxing family gathering at Stourhead Gardens to celebrate my wife's birthday. (We are all NT members). Just after arrival at Stourhead we went for a pre-booked lunch at the Spread Eagle Inn, which was superb. We all 'walked-off' the lovely lunch around the gardens which after many visits are well known to us. Once the rest of the family had departed we returned to the Inn and spent some hours in the bar reading complimentary Sunday papers. My wife was impressed that the bar could serve decaf tea and I enjoyed some of the real ales on offer. The room was a really good size and included two easy chairs. The bathroom was really big for an hotel. Breakfast was excellent. I am rather a traditionalist and couldn't fault the Full English whilst my wife had freshly prepared smoked salmon with poached eggs which she said was perfect. One additional comment is to say that all of the staff, without exception, were friendly, courteous and were there to ensure our stay was very comfortable. We don't live far from Stourton but will return again without doubt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lovely little place to stay.

Posted Feb 25, 2017
We were well looked after, a lovely place to stay. Room was lovely too, perfect stay as a base to visit lots of areas nearby. All staff went out of there way to help us, if that was for a jug of milk or to buy in nicer veggie sausages for our breakfast! We'd love to come back in the summer for the nicer weather. Would highly recommend to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Location: Focus has to be on the gardens. We were lucky with the autumn colours. Good access to walks.
Very comfortable. Service friendly and relaxed. Food of a high standard and with generous portions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was wonderful - except the Wifi. I was able to access it for about 5 mins and that was it. This does need to be fixed. They may need to make some adjustments to their equipment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Great but food not up to standard of previous stay

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Food choice añd qualìty could be improved to previous standards
Location: Excellenť
Very good value. Great staff attențive and efficient and friendly Unable to engage wifi and very poor network signal strength.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey USA

Best staff!!!

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Hotel staff went above and beyond in every way possible. So glad we chose this hotel, and would not hesitate to stay again in the future.
5 out of 5
by Katherine from Minneapolis

Stay at the inn & don't miss Stourhead

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
The inn is a picturesque historic building right out of a Masterpiece Theatre period show. As wonderful as the inn is, Stourhead Garden is the star of the show. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous gardens & woods for walking & hiking. The price of a night's stay at the inn includes admission to Stourhead. One small complaint about the inn: the vegetarian pasta dish my friend and i both had for dinner was too sweet. The buffet & made-to-order breakfasts were good.
5 out of 5
by iris from boston

perfect stay

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
it was lovley
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Location hard to beat

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: I enjoyed the peace and quiet, the friendliness of the staff, and the food was good too.
Cons: Hotel is perhaps slightly old fashioned in decor, maybe there is room for some improvement there, but that is part of its charm I think.
Location: The location is fantastic. You can't beat a walk around Stourhead Garden before breakfast with only the ducks for company.
I only had a one night stay but it was extremely comfortable and enjoyable. This hotel sits just off the A303 at Stourhead so was a great overnight stop on my journey from Cornwall.