Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Quiet location

Posted Feb 21, 2017
The building and grounds are delightful. The room was ok - a little on the small side but very quiet. The bed was comfortable. Shower needed more power but water was hot. Breakfast was delicious with the continental choices very fresh. The staff were lovely but did find one or two foreign accents a little difficult to understand. All in all a pleasant stay and would arrive earlier next time to try out the pool and spa facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was luxurious, the room was spacious

Posted Feb 18, 2017
I had the Halcyon signature spa treatment which was absolutely out of this world!! I loved every minute of it. The room was amazing more like a small apartment! Huge bathroom with shower bath and toilet The restaurant for evening dinnerwas quite expensive and mainly cordon bleu so we opted for the house burger, may have done better to visit a local pub Spa facilities were good with steam room, tropical showers and sauna as well as a pool jacuzzi etc, I didn't use the gym The bed was large and comfortable and we had no disturbances at all Breakfast was lovely too with a range of the usual breakfast foods to suit anyone's appetite The staff were friendly, polite and helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Overpriced for what you get

Posted Jan 23, 2017
We feel the hotel is overpriced for what you get. Positives: peaceful location, lovely bar and lounge rooms, food was superb and made the visit for us. Negatives: expensive for what we got, the day we stayed the swimming pool and jacuzzi were freezing (the assistant explained they'd had a problem but offered no incentives or treatments in compensation), the bathroom was small and the ceiling height low that meant I could not stand in the shower! The king sized bed was actually two single beds pushed together that were not very comfortable. Check in was not very thorough - breakfast arrangements not explained and poor explaination of the geography of the building. Overall, quite disappointing and we would certainly not stay here again. There are far better hotels around at a more competitive price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Friendly staff, lovely food, spa facilities and quiet location.
Cons: Bigger choice on the dinner menu would have been nicer.
Location: Longleat. We walked into Warminster which took 25 minutes.
We had a lovely two night stay. We went to Longleat safari park and House while staying here. We walked to Warminster which took 25 minutes into a lovely little town. Although it was Sunday, most of the shops were closed, but a nice walk. The Spa facilities are good here, we enjoyed a couple of hours in the swimming pool, which was lovely and warm, jacuzzi and steam rooms. The food was delicious, we ate in the lounge on Saturday night and main dining room on Sunday and breakfast two mornings. The staff are very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location coming from Heathrow.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The environment and surroundings were beautiful. Having a swim first thing in the morning was wonderful
Cons: Vegetarian food
Location: Location good assess from Heathrow.
Easy checkin with friendly and welcoming staff. We then went for dinner in the dining room. I ordered the vegetarian option, while my husband ordered the pork which he enjoyed. The vegetarian meal was the worst I have had in England, undercooked beans (inedible) with cooked spinach in the middle. After telling the staff of my disappointment in the meal, who said that they would pass it on to the chef. On check out I was then charged £33 for the meal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin

No Air con!

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Hotel was OK but we stayed during a hot spell and the lack of air conditioning was a real disadvantage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thatcham

chilling out with my two Grandchildren Molly and L

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Everything was just 1st class
Location: Was fab for shopping and longleat
Fab , location , pool food could not fault anything
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very relaxing

Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
Very relaxing
5 out of 5
by Stuart from west malling kent

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful staff, quiet and comfortable country hotel would certainly recommend to others
5 out of 5
by Ian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels