Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorchester, Dorset

The Walnut Tree Inn, Mere

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Everything - except the Wi-fi although no big deal - only a two day stay.
Cons: Wi-fi
Location: We stayed there prior to and after a day and evening concert at Longleat. Other places listed in Inn information but not visited by us.
An excellent place to stay and eat! The staff were really helpful and the food we had (Breakfasts and Evening meal} were excellent and great value (Evening meal - breakfast included B & B). I don't want to say much more about the Inn because my wife and I want to go back there again - too many "excellent" reviews might make it more difficult to get a room! An overall excellent 2 night stay. The only problem we had was that the Wi-fi was a bit hit and miss - gave up in the end. When I first encountered the problem I was advised what to do - didn't work and the lovely girl behind the bar asked if I wanted her to try. After a few unsuccessful tries the router was re-booted which resulted in a connection - (temporarily)! As I said, extremely helpful and efficient staff. Will be staying again.
5 out of 5
by Chris from Two nights away

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
lovely country pub, staff made you feel so welcome from the moment you walked in till you left. Food was great value for money, all meals are on the large size but do offer smaller one's on some of there menu. Will be looking forward to going back again and would recommended this Pub/ hotel to anyone who is looking for some nice to stay
5 out of 5
by Richard from Birmingham

A must try countryside location

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were all very welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poole

Great Find

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Read all the comments and they all lived up to my expectations. Friendly greeting great room (Walnut) nice bathroom, bath and seperate shower and comfy bed. Pub food good excellent breakfast all in all a great one night stop over.
5 out of 5
by Miriam from Plymouth

Great place to stay if visiting the area

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay for short break. Staff welcoming and friendly with a beautiful room. Perfect for our mini break - thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portsmouth

Very warm and friendly place to stay

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: The friendly welcome
Location: Close to Longleat Safari Park
This was the second time we stayed at the Walnut Tree Inn in around 6 months I can't recommend the Walnut enough the staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome and at ease the food is excellent. So don't waste time looking anywhere else.
5 out of 5
by Rob from dorking

mere

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely room, good service, good food. What more can you ask?
5 out of 5
by lorraine from Hayes

25th wedding anniversary

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
The food knocks socks of our local restaurant and that's saying something
5 out of 5
by Victoria

Very comfortable and clean with friendly staff.

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely place to stay for a night. Although the rooms are above a pub/restaurant there was no noise disturbance at all. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff were super friendly and helpful, a credit to the owners. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to family and friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abbotsford, BC, Canada

Nice hotel close to Longleat

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Pros: Everything! The staff were very accommodating and eager to assist two weary travellers. Service was exemplary and the room spacious.
Cons: Not a thing! Great job!!
Location: Longleat Safari Park. Take a drive through the park and have lions walk alongside you car!! Book for the VIP feeding the tiger experience. Awesome.
This is an exceptional hotel. Staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful. The Walnut Room exceeded our expectations and the evening meal and morning breakfast was superb. Great atmosphere and we would stay at this hotel again without hesitation. Staying here was a great prelude to our visit to Longleat Safari Park where we had booked to feed the tigers.