Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Business hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
A basic business hotel that offers the essentials for the mid-week traveller. The room was 'minimalist' and somewhat sterile. The TV had an incredibly grey picture...probably to ensure it was in-keeping with the maroon and grey decor. Thankfully the room was incredibly clean and the mattress comfortable enough. On the whole the staff were friendly and helpful though the Monday morning duty manager could perhaps benefit from a course in guest relations...for a simple question regarding the card charge and final bill to be met with a sarcastic "have you ever stayed in a hotel before" as the response is somewhat unnecessary.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Modern facilities but didn't feel like guests

Posted Sep 18, 2017
We really wanted to like the Pentahotel experience and stay but unfortunately when we arrived there was nobody around. Given that there is no Reception, you check in and out via an unmarked section of the bar. When we wandered around for a few minutes I eventually found two employees 'hiding' by the kitchen and far from view. I had to walk to them, as they were making no attempt to assist us (bags in hand and carrying a dog) I was surprised of the lack of customer care. Upon asking them where we check it one ignored me and the other informed me "over there at the bar" but she didn't move, or even smile. Eventually a person arrived to check us in but she was very matter-of-fact and failed to notice our dog (£20 extra income to them) until another guest came over to say hello and make a fuss. I had declared our dog on the booking form so I was unsure why this was overlooked. Then, as expected "oh, we charge £20 for a dog" and she cancelled the previous charge in the card machine to up the bill. By the way, there is nothing for your money, no dog bed, no water or food bowl, not even a dog treat. Pure stealth tax! Our room was clean and modern but that's what I expected from the other reviews and the price we paid. The most welcome gesture came from the barman, he spoke warmly and seemed interested in us as guests. His colleagues just didn't seem bothered. On Sunday morning the person on 'Reception' was friendly as was Chef but by then we were leaving. Shame.
4 out of 5
by Gareth

Excellent hotel - Recommended!

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was perfect and very reasonably priced. I was there for two nights. However, the hotel is a little out of the way of any local amenities (unless you have transport and prepared to travel 10 - 15 mins); although that said there is a McDonalds about 10 walk away. The hotel served food and whilst I cannot speak for the whole of menu; the Chicken Tikka curry was really nice, but I did have to pick out a few pieces of grizzle from the chicken pieces.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Check your booking

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
Be clear on what room and rate you have especially if not booking direct - Reception staff 'overlooked' telling me they were oversold and didn't have the room/rate booked and downgraded without sharing the information - on challenge they attempted to suggest it was to do with the booking agent not advising them the 'preference'. A 'preference' is not a paid item it is a 'preference'. On escalation - the manager attempted to make amends however all trust had been broken by that point.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Nicola, Hotel Management
I'm disappointed to read your comments despite the time and effort the team had spent with you regarding your issues. Thank you for choosing to stay with pentahotel Warrington on this occasion. Regards Dan
3 out of 5
by L

Like a upscale travelodge

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
I guess this hotel is like a upmarket travelodge. The rooms are simple and similar but the lobby is a nice. A friend of mine joked it was a cross between premiere inn and the W. Waiting 15 mins to get served at the bar is a big no.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Nicola, Hotel Management
Hi L, Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We start with brilliant basics, then take it to the next level. This includes offering movies inside the rooms, a pool table in the lounge, a gym, use of our PS4 all for free!!! We also have gaming rooms where you can stay up all night playing retro games such as Pac-Man and Streets of Rage. Penta is not a hotel, penta is a state of mind. In a world of bland hotel experiences, pentahotels creates a new cult for like-minded travelers who are tired of the same old conventions. Our guests don’t want boring, and we don’t do normal, so it’s a match made in heaven. We look forward to you returning soon. Regards Dan
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chic hotel in the middle of a business park.

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
If you’re looking for a chic hotel at a reasonable price then this is a good choice. Our room was comfortable with a modern bathroom and large shower area. The TV system was very impressive with a great choice of channels and all of the movies were free. However, the hotel is in the middle of a business park and there is absolutely nowhere to go to eat that is within a reasonable walking distance. Maybe that explains why the hotel restaurant is so expensive, especially for the wine. Another thing to watch out for is that the hotel charges guests extra for parking. OK, is not a huge amount but I would rather pay a little bit more for the room and have free parking instead. And although the Wi-Fi is free, it’s dreadfully slow; so slow in fact that I eventually decided to turn it off and use my phone signal instead. Finally, if you’re staying on the so called ‘quiet’ side of this hotel (i.e. the side not facing the main road), be warned, it isn’t that quiet because there is an industrial building opposite the far end of the hotel that has an air conditioning (or similar) unit which drones on all day and night. I would only stay at this hotel again if I couldn't find a decent alternative in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Nicola, Hotel Management
Hi Anonymous, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I'm pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay such as our free movies, our room décor and our penta lounge. We do not include the cost of parking in the stay as this does not benefit guests who have not driven to the hotel. You can upgrade to our high speed internet for as little as £3.99. Thank you for staying with pentahotel Warrington on this occasion. Regards Dan
5 out of 5
by Kerry

Fabulous staff

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
Arrived into a business park. Reception is also the bar. Pleasant staff. Room fabulous, comfy bed, awesome tv. It was my partners birthday and so they put a bottle of prosecco in the room, really nice touch. You need to pay £4 a night parking. This doesn't break the bank but you'd think it should be free. Great stay and close to my friends house which is why we chose the location. Will recommend and certainly stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Nicola, Hotel Management
Hi Kerry, Thanks for such an amazing review. We all hope that your partner enjoyed his birthday and we look forward to seeing you both soon. Regards Dan
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds

Nice hotel with quirky decor

Posted May 31, 2017
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room had everything you needed.
5 out of 5
by Joe

Lovely hotel, great bar area!

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly welcome, stunning bar area, totally clean throughout and a really comfortable bed! The climate control / air con in the room was a godsend as I stayed on a really hot day. Great hotel.