Ratings based on 491 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hants

Good location for touring with lovely grounds.

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: If you stay in the "Hall" part of the complex this has the charm.
Cons: Its generally with everything to hand
Location: Super location. Stratford/Shakespeare Warwick castle Gaydon car museum Broadway village
Pleasant 3 day stay in lovely surroundings. Regrettably the fire alarms were triggered twice 1 near midnight and 1 very early in morning. Apparently a "ghost" in the system this is being looked into and a replacement system is part of upcoming plan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southport

Nice hotel in lovely grounds

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: The apartments, grounds and spa facilities
Location: It's very near to Stratford and the Cotswolds and reception were very helpful giving us maps etc.
Three friends stayed here and the apartment we shared was perfect. The two bedrooms meant we could all be together and we had plenty of room. Breakfast was very good but we did have a poor dinner one night. However we were compensated for that so can't grumble. We all said we would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Lovely spot to relax

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Convenient to M40 and to Stratford upon Avon. Gym was good but only stayed one night so rest of amenities were not experienced. Sure they are very good. Mix up with Expedia payment so tried to charge me twice. Staff did not know the system well enough. Beautiful grounds so would have been great to stay longer
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wirral

Awful nights sleep

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: Refurbishment, sorting out the creaking floorboards, soundproofing the rooms, having adequate hot water, making sure parties do not get out of hand...
We booked a family 2 room apartment at the Mercure Walton Hall hoping for a relaxing night after visiting Warwick University open day with our 2 children. The location was gorgeous and Walton Hall impressive. We were in the end apartment of the Stable block with a bedroom and bathroom upstairs, and a bedroom, lounge and kitchen downstairs. Apart from the creakiest floorboards that I have ever encountered the accommodation seemed pleasant enough and the hotel had put an extra single bed in the lounge. However while watching TV before bed, we became aware of many insects in the room including spiders, beetles and a small cockroach. The room was very stuffy, however due to a wedding in the hall we could not open a window due to the noise which went on until after 1am. Around 1.30 am a fight broke out right outside our room with a lot of screaming and swearing. This continued for about another hour. Also the shower ran out of hot water after my wife and son had used it in the morning so I had to use the shower in the pool changing room. On checking out we told the receptionist of our problems and he just said he was sorry but the hotel did call the police in the night. After complaining in writing the hotel has agreed to refund half the cost after acknowledging the lack of hot water and that the room was due to be refurbished, however frankly we should have had a full refund, even if the hotel had to recoup this from the wedding booking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Dark and Grim

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Looks like it was built in the 1980s and not decorated since. Room was dingy and remarkably we stayed 2 nights and the room staff never cleaned the bathroom or washed up the cups etc. Very unusual. Perhaps it was because we used expedia but they put us in a room well away from reception . there was no way to get to reception except by walking right around the outside of the building. Finally, we went because it was near Stratford . It is about 8 miles away and in the middle of nowhere. I would definitely not go back..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartlepool

Half way stop between south and north

Posted May 22, 2017
Had a really nice day at the old Manor House at Walton Hall We had been touring Devon and Cornwall for 2 weeks and had an overnight stay with use of lovely indoor pool and Sauna Room was beautiful . Bed was massive and very comfortable. Espresso coffee machine . Kettle and all the trimmings. Only down side was that there were no reservations left in the Resturant- I should have pre booked but had a bar meal which was ok The breakfast was very good as were all the staff Many thanks for such a relaxing stay in such beautiful grounds and room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Modern hotel set in parkland. Good Location

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Room, Location, surroundings
Location: N/A. Visitung friends.
Stayed in Orchard Mews this time. Ground floor room. Large airy but quite warm on a sunny May day. No adverse comments at all. Room was not ready when we arrived at just before 3. Not a problem, we had coffee in the lounge bar. It became apparent that Saturday night had been a busy one since when got to our room the cleaning staff were very evident. Room was well equiped with power sockets and was very comfortable. we have stayed here a number of times and have never been disappointed with any aspect of the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beeton ON

Quiet English countryside

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Very nice restaurant
Cons: We were on a set menu, the costs to upgrade on the menu seemed very high
Location: Lovely quiet English countryside setting
An overnight stay in a well appointed room, staff were friendly and helpful, location quiet and rural.
2 out of 5
by Michaela

Half board food awful

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Food terrible room not nice. Stay in Walton hall that is completely different to hotel &spa