Ratings based on 452 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel, nice atmosphere, close to town

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Great location, great staff. The main areas are beautiful kept and very welcoming but it's an old hotel; rooms are clean but there was a shortage of working plugs and the bathroom was very dated. This wouldn't stop us returning though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very close to attractions

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: I like the proximity to The Royal Shakespeare Company and other attractions.
Cons: The cleanliness of the front could be improved. It gives a bad impression. The same trash and stains were on the stairs the entire time I was there.
Location: Very good proximity to the local attractions.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bathroom was awesome- large, deep tub with plenty of hot water and great water pressure.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

One nights stay disaster

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Position to town good.
Cons: Food was average. Service mediocre. Air conditioning installed immediately.
Location: Location to township and river was good
With no air conditioning in upstairs suites, sleeping in sauna like conditions was intolerable. Even with an extra fan supplied, the heat was extreme and sleep impossible. We even considered sleeping in the bar downstairs as that area seemed cooler. We were told no other room was available as the hotel was fully booked. Carrying your own heavy bags up stairs ( no lifts) is not what paying guests expect, either. Certainly wouldn't recommend staying here during summer months.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southport

Would I stay again? - NO

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The rooms were a decent size.
Cons: Air conditioning. Updated shower facilities. Control of the car parking so that guests have preference.
Location: Stratford is beautiful, with great shopping and dining. There is so much to see and do and a visit to the theatre is a must.
We visit Stratford upon Avon a couple of times a year and in 10 years we have never had a problem. However, upon arrival at The Grosvenor, the car park was full, presumably because the wedding guests had bagged them all, so my husband moved the car to a pay and display. Check in was fine and the member of staff was pleasant. When we got to our rooms (daughter and son-in-law came too) they were stiflingly hot even though the windows were open and 2 fans were blasting away in each. This situation continued throughout the night, and although I could normally sleep on a picket fence if necessary, it took me a couple of hours to finally succumb and even then it was a very unsettled sleep. My daughter, son-in-law and husband however were only able to catch a couple of broken hours. The traffic noise outside the hotel, until around 3am, didn't help and we didn't dare close the windows in case of suffocating. Needless to say we didn't stay for breakfast; just left as soon as possible. Be aware that this hotel has no air conditioning and no lift. The temperature in the public areas of the hotel wasn't too bad at least 10-12 degrees cooler than in the rooms. (Nice for the staff). The stairs were fine but we did see one couple struggling to carry a pram upstairs. The staff were mostly pleasant although one member of the staff appeared to be 'put out' when he was asked to carry a lady's bags up the stairs. Maybe we caught the hotel on a bad day, but we won't go back to find out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Central location
Cons: Rooms.
Location: Very good for RSC
Dated public areas and rooms are in need of renovation and better ventilation or a/c. Rate excluded breakfast which was going to be expensive for what it was so we found plenty of good alternatives
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Convenient and comfortable hotel.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Convenient location. Limited parking but multistory near by. Comfortable throughout.
Cons: Air conditioning, but fans had been put in every room to try to alleviate the heat. Shampoo and soap rather than all purpose wash in bathroom.
Location: Very close to all the Stratford attractions.
Excellent family room. Very well placed for the theatre and centre of Stratford.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: very convenient location and friendly staff and comfortable room
Location: central for Stratford on Avon - walked to everything we needed.
good location, friendly staff, good food, comfortable rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Good hotel close to the shops and museums

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Closeness to Stratford-upon-Avon places of interest and also had car parking facilities.
Cons: Nil
Location: Close to Shakespeare museums, canal and the River Avon.
Very pleasant surroundings, comfortable beds and good breakfast room and food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Good location but rooms too hot!

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Cons: Get some air conditioning in the bedrooms.
The hotel is well located - only a 5 minute walk from the centre of Stratford. The general condition of the hotel appears good but my overwhelming memory of the hotel will be the extremely hot bedroom. Whilst a fan was provided, this was inadequate to make the room comfortable. I left the fan on throughout the night, which did help but anyone who has difficulty with the noise of a fan whilst trying to sleep would have a problem. The car park (£3) is a little small for the size of the property, so get there early if you are driving. There was a good and varied breakfast menu for a 3 star hotel and staff were pleasant and attentive. Just a shame about the oh too hot bedroom!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Perfect for a one night stay

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Older rooms but has been kept up to date. Rooms were on 1st floor, that means 2nd floor in UK. There is no elevator.