Ratings based on 330 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anglesey

Disappointing

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Pros: Interesting historic building, plenty of character. Pleasant setting. Good pricing for room. Nice bathroom.
Cons: Staff training required. Lighting in room was very poor. Only three table lamps in a large room made it too dark to read easily.
Location: Location good for my business appointment
Wrong room offered on arrival. Then I was charged for breakfast which should have been included. Had to complain to Reception staff, remedial action taken. Bar staff awful. Obviously no customer service experience or training. One staff member had a customer leaving in tears then used the 'F' word openly which upset other guests. Unacceptable behaviour. I made a formal complaint to Bar Manager. Live entertainment very poor. I went back to the Bar where the swearing barman was providing the entertainment with his language and poor service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Timmy

Value for money for sure!!!!

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on HotelClub
GreT value only problem shower and bathroom run out of water, they said due to a burst pipe in the valley so nothing they could do I guess.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by brian from Manchestet

lovely hotel, it's such a shame it's a Britannia

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
Understaffed Britannia Hotel. Stayed 5 nights, everything good until 4 night. 30 people queuing at the bar and this lasted for a couple of hours. Queuing for dinner, booked for 7.30 pm. It took until 8.30 pm to get in to the dinning room. Friday evening was even worse. Saturday morning couldn't have breakfast, massive queue once again. Had to get to work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Badr from Paris

Chic et cosy à l'anglaise

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
Très grand hôtel. Très belle architecture. Étant resté une nuit je n'ai pas pu profiter de tous les services néanmoins j'ai été charmé par les lieux malgré mes appréhensions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Not Provided from Swadlincote, Derbyshire

Very tired, grand, old building

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
Very disappointed. Very large hotel, very understaffed. The poor duty manager had complaint after complaint to deal with, due to unclean bedding, long waits for bar and restaurant service, unedible food, staff seemed depressed and had no time to serve with a smile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stephen from Wigan, UK

Good Stay with History

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
Good stay and nice peaceful location, with a touch of history
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

A Downton experience 😉

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Arrived on Friday with another guest.. Checked in. Everything was fine throughout the weekend break.. Location was great and the hotel grounds were picturesque.. The facilities were good spa, swimming pool, gymnasium etc.. There is an excellent cafe/bistro just next to the Bosworth hotel on the grounds.. Would recommend the jacket potatoes😊. So in a word it's a 'great 'place to stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Brian from Herts

Average

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
Less than 5 mins walk from town and the grounds are good, but I wouldn't go back. The room felt claustrophobic with a sightly low ceiling and I thought it was overpriced. Didn't have the breakfast, but would recommend the Thistle Cottage tea rooms in town (opens 10am).