Ratings based on 477 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hucknall Nottingham

Excellent place

Posted Apr 20, 2017
We were a bit sceptical after reading the reviews but we were highly delighted! Hotel was lovely and all staff very welcoming. Would highly recommend and will definitely return Thank-You.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oh dear

Posted Apr 6, 2017
What a beautiful building wasted. Inside? It's 1978.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Rooms were not clean there was hair in the bathroom. Fire alarm went off early morning. Receptionist wasn't helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North East Scotland

Very good indeed

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Pet friendly, we had 3 small dogs with us and they had the run of the hotel with no problems. Very important to us.
Cons: Interior and furnishings a little tired, could do with some upgrading, but this did not deter from an enjoyable stay
Location: Excellent location with a 2 minute walk to the town centre with a good variety of small specialist shops.
Excellent facilities, beautiful surroundings, friendly helpful staff. Good value food. Will certainly come again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire

A Hotel with potential

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Gym and Spa facilities.
Cons: Car park, entire inside of the hotel and the staff
Location: There was a fantastic gastro pub called The Horse & Jockey we went to for dinner, would definitely recommend going there, was around an 8 minute drive
In all honesty from the outside the hotel looks great though you can tell it has been neglected as soon as you drive into the car park with the number of pot holes everywhere. For a building that looks so grand from the outside the inside is a massive disappointment, everything is very dated and it looks as though a lot of maintenance throughout the hotel has been neglected for a long time. There was a foul smell as we walked into the hotel all the way through to our room which felt like it was more of an after thought than a purpose built hotel room. The facilities within the room were average at best, the air conditioner was attached to a very thin wall and didn't look particularly safe, our room had an adjoining door to another hotel room and clearly the walls are a lot thinner than they need to be as you could hear every noise from the rooms. The breakfast was once again at the very best average. The only thing that salvaged at least some of this stay was the gym and spa facilities which were better than most other hotels I've stayed in. Other than that I would say the hotel needs a lot of work doing to it and perhaps to employ a better standard of staff. I will not be returning to this hotel or recommending it to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decidedly shabby hotel near Bosworth Field

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Looks extremely tired, rooms dirty with broken furniture
2 out of 5
by Emily

Not happy

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
The rooms are dated but classy there was cob webs on the bed room walls and dust on the tv ! Service was awful as we order sandwiches to the room which were £6 each with a further £4 added on , these took up to a hour to come to the room as apparently they forgot , when the food had arrived the bread was soggy and wet and the beef was very gristley ! Not happy . In the morning we had put the do not disturb sign on the door but a cleaner still tried to get in .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
The bathroom was freezing the breakfast was cold on both mornings and we had to go out for a meal on our 2nd night saturday night as both evening meals was a carvery which we did not know until we got there we could have paid £6.00 ahead to have a bar meal but decided against it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Beautiful hotel, rooms a bit disappionting

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Nice atmosphere in the bar
Bed a bit too hard for me, awoke with backache. Booked on the grounds of free wifi, no information that it was only free for 20 minutes, even then the free wifi was terrible, tried to access my e-mails, gave up after waiting 15 minutes to connect and ended up walking out of the hotel for phone reception. Late arrival is not recommended as car parking is in-sufficient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels