Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bognor Regis

Useful for Stratford on Avon and edge of Cotswolds

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Plenty of parking. Pleasant grounds. Quiet.
Location: Statford about 6 miles away. We were only there over night for family celebration so nearby not fully explored.
Used for a family get together and celebration. Leisure facilities ideal for families. We liked the the fact that there were specific times for children to use the pool. Staff friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Lovely Hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Having read some awful reviews just before we arrived, I was really concerned. I needn't have worried. The hotel was lovely, clean and comfortable. Staff were fantastic too!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Peaceful

Posted Sep 8, 2016
We used it as a Base for our 4 days exploring Stratford Upon Avon, It is in a lovely setting and very relaxing. We used the pool and that was clean tidy and warm and on our last evening we decided to use to restaurant and though the food was nice the staff didn't seem to know the layout and we're walking round the room to find tables, we were approached with other people's meals 4 times !!!. Near to the entrance is the Chequers if you are looking for good food and atmosphere this is the place to eat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Strange smells

Posted Sep 3, 2016
The corridor on the first floor had a very strange smell that caused breathing difficulties. Further to the smell each day a fly flew into the bedroom and dropped dead!! That is not normal and I'm convinced it's due to whatever was in the air!! The smell...something chemical.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Short stay - happy

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Quaint & historical, working towards modernity. Breakfast service is the best, allowed me to show my sons about how true breakfast dining should be.
Cons: Showers are old style, as are the sinks. I think that they waste more water than necessary.
Location: Ours was just an overnight, but the village does boast some nice restaurants and has plenty of place that I would like to visit.
The hotel is obviously an old stately hoe, and is going through renovations. The staff are very pleasant, the location is great to disengage. The peacocks are amusing and the rooms are spacious. Definitely worth another visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bridgend

Overnight Stay

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Upon arrival hotel appears very upmarket - reception area, bar/restaraunt area very modern - until you get to your room. Informed upon check-in that a £10 supplement was required for my son even though I was under the impression that everything had already been paid for (apparently in Expedia's small print). Then we were informed that the roll out bed had not yet been installed. After waiting for that we took the opportunity to rearrange the beds so my son was wedged between the main bed and the wall (he rolls out otherwise). Then we discovered a ton of sweets all over the floor under our bed! The main bed itself was like a torture implement, the pillow absolutely tiny and it was roasting in there. There wasn't any air conditioning. The bathroom was incredibly dated and quite dirty. It appears that a lot of effort has been made regarding the communal areas and the only photos on the website must be of the suites. I wouldn't stay again but then after staying at the Vale Resort and Spa the previous two nights nothing could compare!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arnhem

Lekker zwembad.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Een wat verouderd hotel maar prima prijs kwaliteit verhouding. Vriendelijk personeel keurig zwembad. Gratis parkeren en vlakbij Stratfort upon Avon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice clean hotel short drive to stratford

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Nice stay but no aircon and beds were a bit old and had a nursing home feel but would stay there again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with English breakfast buffet.

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Nice, quiet central location to rest. 15 min(plus parking time) to Stratford Upon Avon and 20min to Warwick Castle. Stayed with my 2 children and felt safe & comfortable. Hotel was removed enough to avoid traffic, which is good when you're still getting the hang of driving on the opposite side!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stank, building noise - like an NHS care home

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: N/A
Cons: A large fire
Location: Left
This was appalling. The carpets stank especially in the room and the decor and furniture looked like they had been bought from a clearance sale of a disbanded eighties care home. Really bad. My partner cannot sleep with noise and building works were clearly going on. Not great for those going for recreation. The pics looked ok on the website but in reality was completely different. The pics show one oldish house that looked like the whole hotel. In fact there is what looks like a street of council houses welded onto the side of it that are not on the pics - we got take down a Shining like corridor to what looked like a funeral home waiting area. If you are going for pleasure - don't - it looks like a hotel for trades people - who don't really notice because they need to get in - wash off the brick dust - drink 4 pints of cheap lager - pass out - get up 3 hours later - eat a pig and drink a bucket of coffee - then get back to mending the M1.