Ratings based on 304 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely location. Service could have been better

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Location. comfortable enough setup in the rooms. parking was good.
Cons: regulation of heat and air in the room. it was stifling, with no way to adjust the heating, and the window would not fully open.
Location: the usual Will Shakespeare stuff. very close to Compton Verney which is a wonderful House with art gallery, restaurant and a really great gift shop.
This venue has a lovely location and the facilities are good. I was only staying overnight, breaking my journey from North to South. I just needed a good night's sleep and a nice meal after a very long day. Staff were not especially welcoming; I got the impression I was a bit of an annoying interruption in what was clearly a very busy day at the hotel. The in-room dining was not a good experience - the order was wrong, the glass for the water was dirty, there were a lot of excuses given. In the end, the young lady handling the in-room service was a nice local girl and was obviously swamped so I didn't make trouble. I could have gone with all of that, but the noise of the private function occurring without restraint below my window was an absolute killer. when I closed the window there was no way to regulate the heating or air conditioning. basically the window only opened the routine 3 inches to protect the hotel's insurance premium, so I was forced to choose between boiling with muffled noise from the downstairs party, or having the window cracked open 3 inches and being blasted by the party and the somewhat drunken remarks of the guests. next morning, no apologies about the noise. by all means stay here as it's functional and practical. Ask for a room a long way from the entertainment areas and beware the in-room dining (can't comment about the restaurant).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Oct 28, 2015
Ettingham chase provided us with a great base for our 2 night break. The communal areas were trendy and new. The room was large if a little dated. The only let down was the bed. It was clearly old and didnt help a bad back. Cleanliness ok although I did find a hair in the bath. Breakfast was lovely and staff helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Marissa from New York

Great event venue, a bit awkward if solo

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
An impressive complex in a beautiful, quiet setting, I immediately found the staff to be inviting and helpful. Pool/ leisure center were impressive, grounds were well maintained and beautiful. Some areas seem a bit dated, like the room's ensure. It felt a bit strange checking in solo as an under 50 female. The hotel gave me more of a conference or event (wedding) feel, than a non-business solo getaway. That said, it is only about 10 minutes from the Stratford-Upon-Avon city center. This fact adds a level of convenience, especially since parking is free and plentiful. This eliminates any unnecessary worry about park and display hassles, car park expenses or getting up early to frantically move from your overnight spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anthony from Reading

Well worth staying here!!

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
The staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is very clean and in a delightful village. The hotel parking is excellent. The bathroom whilst spotless could do with updating. Would not hesitate to stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by STEPHEN

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel good, checking in good but checking out in morning only one receptionist. Allow extra time to queue & check out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ellen from Bexhill

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
Wifi didn't work for us, there was a conference on when we were there.so found it difficult to get served at the bar etc as all the staff were doing other things for the conference people.i had pre paid for my stay and wasn't asked at checkin for any card details so when wanted room service we couldn't have it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Carl from uk

If price is not an issue, go elsewhere

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
I have stayed here before and would only book this hotel for a low price. So far I have pulled back the bed covers and found non head hair (I was not allowed to use the p word) on 2 out of 3 stays. I found the European staff to be a little rude / arrogant. The rooms are dated and could be cleaner. Webs in the room, broken glass in the picture frame. Lots of rooms and a fair amount of noise. There is a bin collection at 05:30 ish which is very noisy. Pool is very nice, Sauna is OK, Gym is small and some of the machines do not work well, the changing rooms are definitely in need of refurbishment. There is a nice pub nearby in the village. Lots of parking spaces at the hotel. You pay much more to stay at the Original hotel building. If the price is low, then this hotel is OK. Walton Hall Hotel is close by and nicer. Hellidon Lakes and Golf Spa is further away, but is much nicer for about the same money (ask for a room with a good view)
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

OK for a low room rate

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
I found the European staff to be a little rude / arrogant. The rooms are dated and could be cleaner. A few spiders and webs in the room. Lots of rooms and a fair amount of noise. There is a bin collection at 05:30 ish which is very noisy. Pool is very nice, Sauna is OK, Gym is small and some of the machines do not work well, the changing rooms are definitely in need of refurbishment. There is a nice pub nearby in the village. Lots of parking spaces at the hotel. You pay much more to stay at the Original hotel building. If the price is low, then this hotel is OK. Walton Hall Hotel is close by and nicer. Hellidon Lakes and Golf Spa is further away, but is much nicer for about the same money (ask for a room with a good view)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Wedding Weekend

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: The ambience
Family and friends all booked into the venue, we had a great weekend. Thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay again if in the area.