Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Torquay

Wonderful position

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Position , grounds & rooms
Cons: Food & drink prices
Stunning building , very nice rooms [ nos: 35 &38 ] super breakfast . overall ,really enjoyed the stay & would go again. One drawback , £ 14.00 for a glass of wine is far too dear & this precluded us from eating & drinking at the hotel . They need to sort this out .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2017
Cons: The coffee!
There was a big noisy wedding party the evening of our stay which wasn't ideal. The hotel reception area is looking a bit dated and tired, slightly fusty smell. Could do with a revamp. The bedrooms on the other hand were better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Enjoyed my stay but I thought the access to the pool and spa was very convoluted and not what you'd expect for the type of Hotel and star rating. Breakfast was nice and the room I stayed in (3) was perfect for my work needs and relaxation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northamptonshire

Wonderful hotel with excellent staff!

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: The beautiful location, the amazing food and the wonderful staff.
Cons: Slightly better (brighter) lighting in our room. The facility to dim and brighten the lights to suit all tastes would be beneficial.
Location: We visited the beautiful Cotswolds area and took a ride on the GWR steam train down to Cheltenham for the races.Train stops right outside the course!
We stayed at Ettington Park for two nights with two other family members for a surprise retirement break for one of our party. The hotel is simply delightful set in tranquil parkland with its own chapel in the grounds. The food was amazing and the friendly staff were a joy - nothing was too much trouble and the only downside to our stay was that it was not long enough. If you like peace and quiet - ask for a room in the garden wing overlooking the old chapel - we all slept like logs with only the birdsong audible which was a delight. We dined in the Oak Room and had a table overlooking the grounds, make sure you book your table before arriving. We did not use the Spa facilities but it looked very good and if we were staying longer, we would have definitely used it. Thank you to everyone at Ettington Park - we will definitely be visiting again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Stunning House and Gardens

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Lovely old building and stunning gardens
Cons: Bar Service
Location: Stratford is only a few miles away, home to famous author that couldn't write proper English ;-)
Last time I came to Stratford, I was on a school trip - that's too many years to count! We stopped at Ettington Park Hotel about 4 miles from the towm. It is a stunning house/hotel and beautiful gardens. We were greeted at reception by warm and friendly people and escorted to our room, which turned out to be a bonus as our key didn't work, so our escort ran back to reception to correct. The room was beautiful with lovely views. We went down to the bar early to have a couple of drinks before dinner, which was nice. The only grump was, we asked the Maître d' how long it would be before our table was ready about 15mins before we were due to sit and wondered if we had time for another drink or not. He couldn't give us an answer. So we ordered a drink and before it came, we were escorted to our table :-( We were then asked if we wanted a bottle of wine, we did - but we'd only just got our other drinks. Bad service I feel.
5 out of 5
by Shannon

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
This place is amazing, so rich in history, we had a wonderful time and the staff was to notch
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Beautiful building

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The building is beautiful, the rooms are nice, and inside is very ornate. It's very small in comparison to the photos, and the lounge area needs sproosing up. The breakfast wasn't particularly nice, I think it's very overpriced overall.
5 out of 5
by Geraldine

Great Experience

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
Our deluxe room was perfect, staff very helpful, building was beautiful, food excellent. Usually there is at least one small niggle when you stay at a hotel, but this time, there was nothing. Spa and Pool great, we were so chilled out, by the time we left:-) Thank you for making my husbands birthday a very memorable one.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brilliant break for the family

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Traditional but not stuffy. Great personal service from all staff. Wonderful building. Our family loved the warm pool. Food was delicious and our well behaved (for a change!) kids were welcomed in the lovely restaurant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Far better than staying in Birmingham Centre

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Impressive Gothic style building in picturesque setting Complimentary upgrade into an equally impressive room but let down by air con not being able to compete with radiators that would not turn off Friendly and professional staff with excellent food at reasonable cost Would recommend