Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Beautiful building

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The building is beautiful, the rooms are nice, and inside is very ornate. It's very small in comparison to the photos, and the lounge area needs sproosing up. The breakfast wasn't particularly nice, I think it's very overpriced overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Beautiful building and grounds

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Lovely building, very friendly and professional staff. Good breakfast. Comfortable room. Nice pool although we didn't use it.
Cons: We didn't like the dining room - old fashioned and crowded. Not easy for staff to move around. Breakfast excellent but thought evening meal was pretentious and overpriced, not good value for money. We both had the chicken dish which was quite tough, hardly any veg and very ordinary. Bread & butter pudding was solid and inedible! A disappointment!
Location: 6miles from Stratford where you will be spoilt for choice. Worth taking the Hop on Hop off bus!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Impressive hotel, nice rooms, slow service.

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Impressive hotel in a lovely setting away from the main roads. Room was large, well appointed and clean. Complimentary coffee, tea, milk and water. Food was lovely in the restaurant and the lounge bar but service was a bit slow; there were a number of private parties during the weekend so staff were probably a bit stretched. To give the hotel credit they did recognise their service shortfall and gave us free drinks in the restaurant and never changed for food in the lounge bar. If you like a plush hotel where you can relax and enjoy getting away then, despite the service issues I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful setting

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Staff were welcoming and the hotel facilities first rate. A wonderful parkland setting - even saw deer on my morning stroll in the grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely country inn.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Stayed with my niece for holiday. The grounds are beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Elegant hotel in historic bulding. Charming staff. Room spacious but a little dated. Wonderful first night in Britain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Beautiful hotel steeped in history

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Wonderful breakfasts, comfortable beds, hotel amenities, garden and grounds, history. Kids enjoyed the pool and exploring the grounds.
Cons: The carpet in the hallways and rooms was a little worn and some of the trim in the rooms (e.g. Baseboards) could use some touching up
Location: Immediately accessible walks and towns nearby. Stratford Upon Avon only a few minutes drive, with many restaurants, shops & attractions
Approach to the hotel is gorgeous and the building itself is beautiful. I felt like I was inserted into a fairytale - the surroundings and ambience were just as I had imagined the English countryside: quiet, charming and picture perfect. The grounds were simply lovely and our stay was very peaceful and relaxing. Fresh air, history, incredibly comfortable beds and delicious breakfast options each morning. The time we spent in this area and at this hotel was one of the primary highlights of our 2 week vacation spent travelling throughout England.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Perfect countryside break

Posted May 31, 2016
Lovely estate close to Stratford and the beautiful Cotswolds countryside. Large rooms with air conditioning and very nice bar/restaurant with great service. And a nice indoor pool with jacuzzi! Could not fault this hotel for a perfect countryside week end getaway from London.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nuneaton

Superb hotel staff are second to none

Posted May 16, 2016
Nothing is to much trouble for the staff the hotel and grounds are a amazing were saving already for another stay 5*
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Beautiful old hotel set on gorgeous lush green park land where you can walk, cycle or relax taking in the view as well as a lovely pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. The restaurant was very good in the evening too and children are happily accommodated. The only reason I don't give this hotel 5 out of 5 is due to my scrambled eggs for breakfast being rather tasteless and under seasoned and the breakfast tables being too cramped despite being in the stunning Library.