Ratings based on 737 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oxfordshire

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Helpful friendly staff, excellent value, great location
Cons: Car parking difficult even thought I was told there was plebty of space,
Location: Fab location, lots to do
Very positive experience , nice hotel, helpful staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shrewsbury UK

very good

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: They have a nice garden that you can sit in and have tea/coffee or even a beer and sandwiches
We had good booking in service - allowed us to book in early as the room was ready. Staff very pleasant and polite. We stayed in the old part of the hotel with its quirky rooms and old beams. We loved it. The restaurant was very good. Making use of the old part of the hotel for the bars and restaurant is really good. Parking was easy - the hotel have a carpark at the back of it and an entrance directly into the reception area. You pay £5 for 24 hours if you are a resident
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pleasant hotel, great central location. All I want to say.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Don't like the reception, tucked around the back by car park. Bathroom a bit poky.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Hotel close to Rugy stadium and city centre

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Location was excellent. Close to railway, sports stadium, CBD and Castle.
Cons: Bath/ shower very slow to drain. Toilet difficult to flush.
Location: Opposite Cardiff Castle, close to Millennium Stadium, CBD and hospitality quarter. Hop on - off bus close.
Stayed in Cardiff for three days. Wandered around CBD and enjoyed al fresco dining but not the cool wind! Worth a walk along the Barrage protecting Cardiff Bay from the Severn Estuary. Brewery Quarter worth a return visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington

Staff provides no customer service

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Can't get a drink served in the bar and had to chase restaurant staff down no less than 4 times.....charming old place, but staff and management made it a less than desirable experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only redeeming quality is it's location

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Stayed one night when going to RSC. The location cannot be bettered. However, the hotel is very basic and has an impersonal, corporate feel. Staff at the front desk were good. Service in the dining room was absymal - slow, unconcerned. Our rooms were dark and overlooked the car park which the dingy curtains could not hide. The beds were lumpy and the shower temperature control was stuck.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run-down, dingy rooms

Posted Jul 30, 2016
The common spaces in the hotel are nice, but the rooms are in need of care and renovations. The rooms are old and grimy. The shower curtain fell off the wall. The carpet is stained. The bathroom is dingy and in need of painting. A shirt was left in the closet by the previous occupant and unnoticed by the cleaning staff. When we told the front desk, they just said "ok," with no apology, or reaction at all. In fact, the front desk staff seemed not to care about anything at all. They were aloof and unfriendly. We would not stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Good location problem with booking process

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Booked family room 4 months before trip with request for double and 2 single beds. Arrived at noon and allowed to leave bags but no booking details taken. Returned to check in at 4.30 and noticed allocated room said '2 adults' - hotel thought we had booked family room to have more space. Ended up in double bedded room with 2 single beds added so no room between beds or between outer beds and hotel walls. Very disappointing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from coventry

Lovely hotel. Great location for everything.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
3 friends went to the races and stayed at the hotel for one night. We stayed in the new part, large family room.breakfast was really good and served really hot. Really good overall stay for what money we payed.close to everything.