Ratings based on 280 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel close to Stratford upon Avon

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: The building and grounds. Quiet.
Cons: Breakfast - keeping the food hot system needs to be updated.
Lush grounds including a golf course. The hotel is very grand and comfortable. Our room was comfortable too and the bed was huge, we slept well. The staff were all very friendly. Only issues were that two cars were broken into on the first evening, I think golf clubs were stolen. We had bicycles in our car so were anxious about them for the rest of our stay. There was CCTV but I don't think it covered the whole car park. Breakfast was good but they served the hot food under heat lamps which didn't cover all the food. We were there early so all food was fine, it was also covered initially with cling film rather than a proper lid. I would suggest investing in a serving trolly with heat coming from underneath with lids to keep it warm. There were issues with the heating lamps on the second day, it took over 40 minutes to fix.I imagine the food was cold by then.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Fantastic views and good location.Staff helpful and polite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

relaxing hotel with wonderful spa

Posted May 30, 2017
Lovely building and grounds with helpful staff. The spa is well equipped and very relaxing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2017
I've stayed at this hotel many times over the years and was pleased to find it in excellent condition under its latest ownership.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted May 2, 2017
Cons: Train the staff.
Purchase the Dinner package. Despite being asked at check-in for a dinner time we arrived at 8.45 to discover we had no reservation. Service was terrible for whole meal. I do not appreciate being leaned over from right when being served. Food bland with absolutely no taste. Sent triple cooked chips (extra charge) back twice before refusing them. They were just under-cooked soggy potatoes. Not a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relax and unwind

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Beautiful setting,only just outside Stratford on Avon.Very relaxing setting,Staff very attentive.You may need a book
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Pretentious Hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
The hotel has an air of pretentiousness that it doesn't live up to. The staff are badly trained and surly. Our check in was long and tedious and we were allocated our room and pointed in the general direction on the ground floor. It took a while to find as the rooms were badly signed. The room was terrible, next to the tradesmans entrance, loud (all night) and then cleaners started vacuuming outside our door around 7:30 in the morning. We have stayed in many hotels on this trip to England , and previous trips some an absolute delight, most very good, but this hotel is out on its own for being crap
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good, but could be great.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Excellent location, nice building with lots of character. Could do with a lick of paint and a deeper clean in stairways and the room I was in. Creaky floorboards to be expected but woke me up each morning from 6:30. Lovely food and drinks, very quick and efficient. Spa was fantastic although remember to take your robe from your room with you! Excellent spa, again sad to see people leaving empty drinks cups in the sauna rooms and poolside - I was there for 5 hours and they weren't thrown away. Staff were ok on the whole - 3 great, 2 OK. Overall a nice stay, with a few tweaks it could be amazing...
5 out of 5
by Matt

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels