Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Ideal location, quaint building, friendly staff excellent value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well place for the RSC

Posted Jan 16, 2017
We went to Stratford to attend a Shakespeare play at the RSC. Which was 5 mins walk away so from that point of view served us really well. The reception area was really nice, big flagstone flooring and spacious. Upstairs where our room was, (in the old part of the Hotel) was very creaky, out of alignment, steep stairs and loads of beams. I though that it was OK and full of character, my wife thought it old and stingy and about to fall down at any minute. I pointed out it had remained in place for 3 or 400 years so we should be OK for one night, but she said she the modern style of hotel was more to her liking, so we probably wont be back. But it was OK and very well placed for the theatre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2017
A good central location with helpful staff and good varied breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

good central location

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Staff were friendly and extremely helpful, attentive to every request. Superb service in every department.
Cons: Double room should have more than just one upright chair-the only place to relax was on the bed. There was no chest of drawers.
Location: Very good for shops, cafes, restaurants, Shakespeare's home and Royal Shakespeare Theatre. Everything within easy walking distance.
Hotel is well situated for shops, restaurants, and Royal Shakespeare Theatre- fine for me with my limited mobility. Our stay was a pleasure, thanks to delightful staff in every department, all of them, I am happy to say, are immigrants from different parts of Europe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

overnight theatre trip

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: The location was excellent for the theatre and town centre
Cons: they could supply water in the rooms
We were visiting Stratford to watch a Shakespeare play. This hotel was perfect, super convenient for the theatre and the shopping and eating facilities of Stratford-upon-avon town. Parking was a bit of a pain, as the hotel car park was full, but they have an arrangement with a nearby NCP that worked fine (and was actually cheaper than parking in the Hotel car park). Room was roomy, if a little hot at first, but we just needed to turn the radiator off to get it sorted. Staff were helpful and friendly. All in all perfect for our short stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Very convenient for everything

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location: RSC, shopping and the whole Shakespeare thing.
A traditional hotel in the centre of Stratford in an attractive half timbered building. It is in easy walking distance of all the attractions. Very near the the main attraction (the RSC) and just round the corner from a large number of well priced eating places in Sheep St. The plus points are the location, the cleanliness of the room and the very helpful staff. the minus points are in in room TV which had a poor signal and the plumbing which was a rather dated - the toilet was very difficult to flush.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Oct 14, 2016
The hotel is a beautiful Tudor building with parking at the back. The surprise is that all of the rooms are not in the Tudor building, but in more modern factory type buildings at the back. The staff were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful. Upon arrival we needed the toilet, the reception toilets were dirty and smelly. When we went into our bedroom in the Garrick Wing, a separate building to the main Tudor building hotel, we found hair in the bathroom dirt on the windowsills and dust on the bedside cabinet. The bed was comfy and clean. The room had a tired feeling. Also there was no lift, so it was not suitable if you had problems walking up the stairs. We were on the second floor. The hotels location was perfect, right in the middle of Stratford upon Avon. This was not good value for the money paid.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Welcoming and helpful

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: This hotel is within easy walking distance to all the tourist attractions, theatres and tours etc.
We really enjoyed our stay. The front desk staff were very helpful and attentive and the room was very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic, attractive hotel in great location.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: This hotel is in an ideal location for theater, restaurants, and shopping. The most has been made of very old, interesting architecture.
Cons: Bottom sheets come off.
We chose this hotel to attend a play. It is in a part of town within easy walking to just about everything. Breakfast was extra but good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manassas, VA

Excellent Customer Service

Posted Aug 26, 2016
See subject. Very nice experience. Rooms are quite cozy and the staff very welcoming. Would recommend.