Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Macquarie, Australia

Spectacular grounds, mediocre experience

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Our room was spacious, neat and clean. Unfortunately, the bathroom had no barrier to prevent the shower water spreading across the floor. Perhaps the room was intended to be accessible for people with disabilities who may require carer assistance while using the shower. We didn't have time to make use of the spa facilities which may have improved our mediocre experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice apartment comfortable and warm atmospher

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Very nice warm apartment. Shakespeare Room. Lovely decor clean and very spacious for a family of 5.
Cons: Nothing to say everything was lovely only wished if the weather was nice as it was raining we could not see around the outside
Location: We went to Warwick Castle that's why I booked this hotel it is very close to castle
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Find somewhere else

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Crowded, cheap, and in the middle of know where.
Where to start... Difficult to find would be an understatement. No signage, no street address, not even the locals understand why not. The pictures are a false representation of this place. It looks like a grand manor house, but that is not where you stay. It is the same commercial and over crowded mass hotel like everything else you get in a city. Not what you would expect for a very rural address. It was also a very noisy hotel from dogs barking all night in the rooms to just way too many people being accommodated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet country stay. Beautiful grounds.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
All good except the a/c on the old hall did not work. Declined the offer of a fan for bfast. Otherwise very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

handicap accessible room with view of brick wall

Posted Jul 30, 2016
We were given a handicap accessible room which we didn't need or ask for and it was not easy to use. Also the pictures on Expedia are great but they don't show you the "woodland" rooms with a view of a brick wall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Serenity

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: The staff were accomodating and friendly. Hugh at Front desk went out of his way to assit us when called upon and Sonia in the resturant made a point
Cons: When we first checked in there was no AC in the room even though Expedia had AC listed as an ammenity. They moved us however to a room which had it.
Location: We visited the Warwick Castle and Stratford upon Avon - both worth the trips.
I was looking for something traditionally English which was in the country but not so far away that I could not get to locations like Warwick Castle or the Coventry area. This fit the bill. Mercure has given it a professional look while preserving much of the traditional aspects of the building and property.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Front Historic but rest industrial and all tired

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Disappointing hotel. Staff wonderful. The Historic old Hall is what you see online but you will check in and stay at the back-- nasty 80's build and rather industrial. Fine if you have to, but not for a treat. Even the front part is very tired (too many budget weddings).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rickmansworth

Not bad but over priced

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Enjoyed are stay here but was expecting more for the price. Picturns on website are mainly of the castle part which is the wedding and function area actual hotel is all new build and not as nice. Rooms are pretty small and dark. All rooms on top floor have ac but no opening window and we're very hot and stuffy and dark so asked to move to a balcony room which was much better. Pics of the rooms are of the suits and upgrade rooms not your standard rooms Spa facilities where quite good and the breakfast was brilliant. Staff very friendly and helpful I personally would not stay again mainly as I think you can get more for your money elsewhere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 28, 2016
We wanted a comfortable hotel in the countryside that had a good restaurant with friendly helpful staff. We were not disappointed and this was our second stay equally enjoyable as was the first. We shall return yet again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel near Stratford upon Avon

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: It's in the middle of nowhere, far from everything and the road to get there is narrow.
This hotel supposedly a 4star was awful. I would rate it a 2 star at best. First the picture on the website is deceiving because the hotel I was in wasn't the beautiful building on the picture but a building that looked like a motel. The check-in staff couldn't get us checked-in rapidly it took over 30 minutes and we didn't have any issue with our confirmation or anything, just confused guy at desk. We had the same issue with another fellow on check-out day...I don't know but the staff seems very inefficient at this hotel. The room they assigned us was on the 3rd floor, very low ceiling, stuffy and the window wouldn't open. Thankfully upon asking they changed our room to a room on the ground floor. It wasn't stuffy and the door could open to a small outside area. The bathroom was awful, the room was for disabled and the shower had no wall. After a shower the entire bathroom was wet with water everywhere making it very dangerous to walk around. The pillows were ridiculous. We were with 3 other people and they all had the same very small almost inexistent pillows in their rooms. The mattress had buttons that were protruding making sleeping very uncomfortable, I dont know why they don't use mattress covers to protect the mattress and the sleeper. Also, the decorative cushions on the bed were filthy. The main area where the bar is is absolutely ugly with no ambiance whatsoever, it's like sitting in the middle of a corridor with tables and chairs. The breakfast was ok.