Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Nice hotel if a little bit tired

Posted Jun 26, 2017
We stayed two nights. Staff very helpful. Restaurant food and staff excellent. Our room was a nice size but a bit tired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Beautiful old pub in the country

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Beautiful old pub with modern accommodation above. Hotel staff friendly. Excellent food and service. Short drive to Stratford and Warwick.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Visiting relatives

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Good bar friendly staff
Cons: Bed size and comfort
Location: Close to Stradford but very fast noisy road
We were greeted by a young lady who was very helpful a bit disappointed with the food at our evening meal and the bed was only a 3/4 size which meant we had to get out of bed to turnover spoiled what could be a good place but it is also on a very fast road
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Canada

Pub in the country

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Rural setting.
Cons: Squeaky floors
Location: OK if you have a car. 15 minutes into Stratford which is well worth a visit. Theatres, shopping, nice walks along the river and more.
Pleasant pub at a rural crossroads 15 minutes from the centre of Stratford. Lots of parking. The rooms are updated and comfortable although the floors are very squeaky and the doors creak! The joys of an old building. Food was decent with a hearty breakfast included in the room rate. It was also nice to relax in the pub after returning from the theatre. Go for a room on the parking lot side if you can. The road runs right by the windows on the other side of the building and even though the traffic is light, having a car speed by at 6 in the morning will wake you up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: food
Location: Warwick castle is not far,
very nice country hotel, food is great and staff are most welcoming and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Staffs

Delightful overnight stay

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Found this lovely place online and what a find! Good location, close to Alcester and Stratford. Characterful, with first rate staff and top notch food. Room was spacious and spotless and the bed was comfortable. Will definitely be back.
2 out of 5
by Debbie

Covenient for where we needed to be. Not clean

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
The Pub itself is old, there is a nice touch of a glass-topped well in the bar with goldfish in it. Bar staff and service nice. Breakfast service not good - the waiter/waitress clearly cooks your food too. Tepid, weak pot of tea - which we had to ask for. Room needed hovering, bottom sheet on the bed was too small and not tucked in at the top, but bed pillows comfy and linen clean. Bathroom very dated, which wouldn't have been a problem if it was cleaner. Loo flush was sporadic, hole in the wall under the basin light. Basin badly cracked, shower has black mould/gunge under the fittings, although lots of hot water. Small radiator in the bathroom didn't work, so nowhere to dry towels and no window, so damp. Shower screen leaked, so water over the floor. Left 'Please service' tag hanging on the door, but room not touched - so damp towels, dirty mugs etc. Was very disappointed - the whole operation seems to be run on a skeleton staff. We didn't try the restaurant - main courses seemed to be from £15, which if the standard of food in the morning was anything to go by is ludicrous. My advice, and believe me, I am not precious or an OCD sufferer, is go elsewhere.
4 out of 5
by Deborah

Very friendly, lovely room and great food

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
1 night stopover will be staying again
5 out of 5
by Martin

Great country pub /b&b

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
Good spacious room and shower ,plenty of parking and nice food. Very good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great pub stay

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Nice character-full pub in the English countryside. Great service. Excellent food.Very good room. Bed was a little hard but overall we really loved this place and hope to stay again some other time. Can be noisy but it's a pub. If you are sensitive to noise then perhaps pub stays aren't for you.