Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W-S-M

A really nice and friendly place to stay.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel, the staff made us feel very welcome and even made a lovely Birthday and engagement gesture when they realised why we were visiting the area. The atmosphere was very nice with a very local feel about the place. The village was very quiet and beautiful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from essex

Nice hotel. Lovely setting

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Needs quite a bit of tlc. Dirty water in flower vase on reception desk incl dead flowers. A bit of 'Flash' on the stair handrail and doors wouldn't go amiss, (this is b4 you get to your room) lack of lighting in bathroom bath tap broken no privacy curtain. Water dripping through dining room ceiling whilst we ate. Breakfast SUPERB. A minimal amount spent to rectify these things would yield a better outlook
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Nice hotel close to Stratford

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: Good location, clean and friendly staff. Train station 5 minutes walk with frequent trains to Stratford.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Working tudor farm close by. Train station with frequent trains to Stratford and Birmingham. 4 mile walk to Stratford.
Charming quaint hotel close to Stratford. Staff very helpful and friendly. We had lunch and breakfast which were both excellent. The chips with lunch were the best we have ever had.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Well placed only 10 minutes from town centre.

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: The breakfast chef was very pleasant and made delicious scrambled eggs. The manager/owner was very obliging.
Cons: The place needs a good scrub and a coat of paint in some places.
Location: The location is lovely; it's just outside Stratford on Avon. It's ideal for the theatre and many other attractions nearby.
The hotel looked tired and in need of a facelift. Having said that, the bed was comfortable and the room was adequate. However, the bathroom was awful. Some of the floor tiles were broken, the radiator was rusty, the woodwork was badly scratched, worn and grubby but could be put right by a coat of paint and a good clean. Worse of all was the shower; the shower head was lying in the tray and we discovered why - it dripped all the time. The shower tiles were very grubby and we didn't risk having a shower because the head looked too dirty. We were very disappointed.
4 out of 5
by Sue

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NewZealand

Posted Apr 19, 2016
It was so charming we forgave it its minor quirks, the room was gorgeous and the staff very friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value accommodation close to historical sites

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: This hotel was chosen on price and location. Very nice location and close to plenty of historical sites.
Cons: Update the decor and bring some positivity to the service. Presentation of food can add so much to the anticipation of the meal.
Location: Stratford upon Avon and Warwick Castle are both close by.
The accommodation was functional and the main parts such as the bedding and bathroom were in themselves clean but the general decor of the room was a bit tired. The wall where the tea and coffee was stained with water marks and the hook from the bathroom door has been taken off and not replaced. Everything felt a bit dated. The staff were pleasant but after reading some of the previous reviews, it felt as though many did not expect to be rated as being any better. Some spring cleaning and a touch up of paint could make a huge improvement . We ate in the evening and there was a problem with my main course which was dealt with, but again, it was as if it was no surprise that I should complain. The food was stodgy and unhealthy and the breakfast set up was basic and undressed.
2 out of 5
by Oeppen from Abergavenny

Disappointing

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived on a Friday afternoon having booked and paid for a superior room, only to be told that this was not available. We were then taken to a room directly over the bar. The shower was not fixed to the wall and the head damaged. The kettle did not work and the furnishings were shabby. The bed was only a double although we had booked for a king size. We had an evening meal in the bar area which was adequate but breakfast the following morning was woefully inadequate - one over-ripe banana and some mangy grapes, no yoghurt, initially no milk or fruit juice, no marmalade and long wait for any cooked food. We had a terrible night's sleep as the Karaoke in the bar went on until midnight followed by very noisy clearing up until 1.30am. All in all a very disappointing experience.
4 out of 5
by Kimmika from the States

Even If There's a Problem, They'll Take Care of It

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
There was an initial problem with the booking. It seems when you input 1 adult and 1 child and the drop dowm menu appears for the age, the manager sees the number of children in fractions. :) Anyway, although the room wasn't available when we arrived, the manager was very accommodating and worked things out.
5 out of 5
by Norma from Poole

Lovely room, comfortable bed and great food.

Posted Mar 4, 2016 on Hotels
The Mary Arden is 3 miles outside of Stratford Upon Avon in a quiet residential neighbourhood which was nice as it was close to the town centre but quiet at night time. The room was clean and not cluttered and you had room to move around and the bed was very comfortable. The food was well cooked, fresh and delicious.