Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

2 bit hotel charging 5 bits

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The room itself was generally clean but the entire building was out dated & smelled a bit musty.
Cons: It was way overpriced! For the (non-existent) amenities & decor a reasonable price would have been $60 not $140. There is no pool, the decor is out dated, & the continental breakfast amounted to a box of cereal & a gallon of milk in the employee break room (very awkward). Again, a fair deal for $60 but nothing more than that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Not worth the money

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: 20 minutes from Bayfield and Apostle Island cruises.
The only really good thing I can say about this place was they allow pets and have soft water and close to Bayfield. The staff was pleasant but wasn't very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and places to eat. The room was dirty and there was black in the toilet and shower. The shower head was disgusting and black as well. The mattresses were very uncomfortable as well as the pillows. The light fixture and refrigerator did not work. The air conditioning was extremely loud and I had a truck parked in front of our window which blocked our view. The sheets felt like burlap and the pillows were fluffy but not squishy so when you laid your head down you were still basically sitting up and I'm a side sleeper so it was very uncomfortable. They provided plenty of towels and it was close to the lake and walking distance to a very good restaurant but other then that I would never go back. The restaurants bar closed at 9 on Saturday so no chance of sitting and having a cocktail before heading to bed. Very cute restaurant with friendly staff though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Close to water

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Clean, quiet, friendly!
Cons: Could use some upgrading on decor, but everything worked and was CLEAN!
Location: Close to Ashland and Bayfield (Apostle Island and Madeline Island)
Nice setting close to the water and a very nice restaurant next door! The Inn could use some updating, but was very clean and did not have any bad orders. Breakfast was adequate for my needs with cereals and milk, a variety of bagels, cream cheese, jellies, peanut butter, breads for toast, yogurt, coffee, OJ, and apple juice. The eating area was small, but very clean and great for meeting people and holding a conversation,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Close to Bayfield with good price.
Queen bed with mini-fridge. Room was a bit noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by The Washburn Inn Staff, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying at The Washburn Inn and thanks for sharing your feedback We are continually making improvements to the hotel and we hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Green Bay, WI

Good Neighbor Hospitality

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Lots of hiking trails. Ferryboat tours of Apostle Islands. Historical sites. Many gift shops. Equity Theater playhouse. Good local eateries.
Terry and Richard, managers, are wonderful people. They are from the area and are very knowledgeable about maintaining a well run Hotel. They took the time to answer any questions that I asked and also asked me the right questions to ensure that my accommodations and comforts during my stay were met. Included in the stay is a free continental breakfast each day that has a wide assortment of eating choices. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Modern conveniences such as free Wi-Fi;; bath/shower, cable tv, and comfortable queen size beds. I rated the Hotel Facilities as 4 for Pleasing because there isn't a spa or swimming pool, or any luxury amenities that usually are available with expensive hotel choices, but I wasn't interested in paying a whole lot more for those alternatives. What I did get with my stay in quality and value beyond the cost. Great central location for visiting The Apostle Islands. Many Ferry Boat tours of the Islands are available in Bayfield, WI, which is 12 miles north of Washburn. The billing charges for rooms is very competitive and reasonable. I plan to visit the area again (hopefully, next year) and will stay at Washburn Inn On the Lake because I now know that the Hotel staff know how to treat the customer right! I would highly recommend this Hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unclear parking area, no elevator.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Showering, breakfast
Cons: Lack of elevator. That they chose to rely on Expedia for revenue. I will never use it or others again. Had to strain to understand some foreign clerk.
Location: Fall scenery.
Plain, adequate, too many pillows. No rooms facing the lake, so no sunrise. Nice boat dock.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Easy access to other attractions in the area.
Cons: Only one thing that needed attention- the lampshade in the corner of our room needs to be replaced.
Location: Our primary reason for staying there was to visit the Apostle Islands and Bayfield town. Driving along the lakeside was so beautiful too.
Our stay was very nice. Check-in went very well. Our host was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P - chicago

Cozy comfort

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Location by the lake - close to Applefest in Bayfieldu
Cons: Hotel needs upgrading (upgrading planned for this coming winter)
Location: Beautiful location, near the lake and a nice restaurant - close to Bayfield and National Seashore Apostle Islands
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2016 by The Washburn Inn Staff, Hotel Management
Thanks for choosing The Washburn Inn. We have a great location and provide clean comfortable rooms close to all there is to do in Bayfield, Washburn, and the Apostle Islands. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We hope to serve you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: Boat ride the in Bayfield
Very quiet. Clean and helpful staff. Great free breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2016 by The Staff at The Washburn Inn, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying at The Washburn Inn. We work hard to provide a great stay for our guests and a great location. We hope to see you again.