Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by William

Relaxing Stay

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: History, architecture and hospitality.
Cons: Rooms were very dusty. Rooms could use updating.
Location: Good location to many attractions. Within walking or driving distance.
It was a nice stay in Hermann. Our location was quiet and within walking distance to the attractions in nice weather. Our host was very pleasant. The breakfast was very nice and plentiful. The rooms could use some updating and definitely a deep dusting. The antique bathing tubs were interesting for us. It is a great place to stay if you want to experience the culture and heritage of this great little town. We would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our first B&B

Posted Aug 31, 2013
Pros: Nice building, good decorations.
Cons: There was some water damage, but the place is really old. So, I doubt there is much that can be done about it.
Location: Great local wineries and the food was surprisingly good.
This was a nice experience as first time bed and breakfast consumers. Birk was a pretty funny guy and the breakfast was awesome. The people who stayed with us were nice people as well. It seems like in bed and breakfast's you spend more time interacting with other guests.
3 out of 5
by Sarah from Lees Summit

Had a great time!

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels
Went to Hermann for an impromptu getaway.. We loved it. Birks is located in the historic Hertzog mansion. Richard, the owner, was very accommodating. His excellent service (and breakfast) helps you overlook what the place is lacking. There are nine guestrooms. We had room 8 (which needs new carpet badly). Overall, Hermann is a blast and we would stay at Birk's again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from st. louis, MO

Excellelnt

Posted Jul 14, 2013 on Hotels
It was the management that was so terrific
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

A wonderful gem in an amazing town

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels
We stayed at Birks for an impromptu weekend for hubby's birthday. This is an authentic Victorian home with all the quirks of the era. Beautifully appointed in every room. Room #7 was awesome. Don't expect a 5 star hotel, this is an old house but that is the charm of it. Richard was a great host, we felt comfortable and at home the entire time. Breakfasts were amazing! The town has it all, wineries, great food and unique shopping. We would recommend this to ANYONE who wants a relaxing step back in time.
4 out of 5
by TH from St. Louis

Nice Stay

Posted Jun 17, 2013 on Hotels
We were happy with the stay. The house is a beautiful old house with a lot of privacy. Breakfast and owner were wonderful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun time in Hermann Mo.

Posted Apr 6, 2013 on Hotels
Electical problem left us wihtout lights in half the room . Other than that all was find! Great breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

quaint B&B stay

Posted Mar 28, 2013 on Hotels
We really liked the B&B! It was relaxing & clean. The food was excellent as well. We will definitely book there in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced for what you get

Posted Dec 4, 2012 on Hotels
The owners were nice and the breakfast was very good, but the home is in disrepair and needs major attention. Everything was very shabby. For the cost of the stay I expected much more. Good location if you wish to be able to walk to a winery.
2 out of 5
by dtpm57

beware - room 5 is really small!

Posted Nov 23, 2012 on Hotels
We ate a delicious breakfast outside the beautiful Victorian dining room in an addition - modern but not Victorian as was the separate modern bathroom for room 5. When we made the reservation room 5 was the only one left so we took it and asked to be upgraded if possible - maybe someone didn't show up but room 1 was not used either night. Staying in a real Victorian mansion should have included some real Victorian eating and sleeping experiences for $300+