Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2014
This B&B (like many) is a big, old house, which means it has all the sounds and smells of an old house. We asked the owner and it turns out the house was built in the 1800s. It is beautifully furnished with solid antique furniture. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, which was quite comfortable and clean. We also spent some time in the game room, which has a pool table, TV and card table, with lots of board games in the cabinets. Breakfast was delicious, although we made the mistake of not showing up at precisely 8.30 and were berated a bit for that. The owner was polite and mostly kept to himself.
4 out of 5
by Marian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Octoberfest

Posted Nov 3, 2014
We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before so it was quite shocking how you could hear every single thing going on outside of your room. The house is an antique, I thought beautiful, just old and creaky. The breakfast was amazing and the owner just had surgery so he was a trooper doing all of that work. He, himself, was a dry sense of humor kind of person, but kind. We stayed in one of the shared bathroom rooms, which for as little as we were there ended up just fine. Hermann was stunning and made the trip worth every bit of quiet we felt we had to be in the B&B. That was really the biggest issue was the quiet. No one told us we had to be but we felt obligated and that was uncomfortable. We would stay there again as we loved the town so much! And he serves a great breakfast!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Joseph Mo

Run down bed and breakfast

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Good breakfasts
Cons: Put TVs in the rooms and expand the Wi Fi to the whole hotel
Location: Nothing near by in walking distance
Went there by train so we had no transportation. The place is a mile walk from everything. No television in the room. Also, if you want to use the wi fi you have to go to the room downstairs where is computer is. Could not call taxi because out phone carrier (Sprint) has 0 towers in the area. Was not offered the use of the hotel phone. Our last morning there one of the other guests went to get a cup of coffee. The coffee pot was empty and he told the proprietor and was told " sorry ". For the price we were paying for the rooms you would think he could get up and make another pot.
3 out of 5
by Sam from St. Louis

It was good

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels
Typical B&B, close to most places, not many amenities, but very quaint and nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jim & Patricia from St. Louis, MO

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels
Very good. Very pleasant host. Close in-town location. The room was clean and comfortable. The host was very nice. He was welcoming but also gave the guests their own time and space.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mark from Wichita

A Grand B&B!

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels
I love the character of an old house such as this B&B offers! The price is just right and the amenities make you feel casually at home. Breakfast is wonderful and the place is quiet.I will definitely return and book my stay here!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to down town

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels
Never visited a B & B before and probably never will again. Paid way too much for not having a TV in our room, uncomfortable mattress and tiny toilet/bath tub. Breakfast on the other hand was fantastic. Manager was very friendly