Ratings based on 432 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from worksop

looks nice from outside,step back in time inside.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: the beds were clean and bathrooms were clean
Cons: the decor needs bringing up to date.its like some cheap b and b
I booked hotel about 6 weeks before our stay,about a week before travelling rang hotel and asked if our room could be a disabled room,a very nice gent assured us that this was possible and he would enter this on computer.When we arrived the girl on reception told us there was no record of this and our room was on 1st floor (my wife dosent do stairs) she then offered us a twin room on ground floor which we were not pleased about but had to accept.The receptionist also informed us that there are no "disabled"rooms as all rooms have a shower over baths and no walk in showers.When we got to our room its was like going back in time,woodchip wallpaper every where and different coloured paint on patches on the walls.(woodchip went out in the 80s didn't it?) At half four in the morning the fire alarm went off for about ten seconds,enough to wake every one up,and when we asked about it in the morning the receptionist could not understand what we were on about.We reported the fire alarm and the obvious airlock in the waterpipes making a terrible racket every time someone washed their hands or showered or flushed the loo all hours of the night. Would not stay here again and would definitely not reccommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to shops

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: The cleanliness and staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location was excellent close to lots of interesting things to do
Very clean and friendly all staff very helpful they could not have made our stay any better would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Room not clean, stained towels and dirty cups left in bathroom , no free wifi and breakfast extra
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wiltshire

The price was right for our purpose

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: The price
Location: Visited Beamish while we were there, and in the evening had a nice walk round Headington Park, which was not too far away.
We just needed a room for 2 nights, while we visited Beamish. Hotel looking very tired and in need of a bit of paint. Bed was reasonably comfortable. Room was clean. Went for full breakfast which did us for the day. Plenty if choice It served a purpose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fab hotel for the price

Posted Mar 15, 2017
My usual stop when in the area and is great value for money. The rooms are comfortable and the food is good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DEVON

VISIT TO FAMILY

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Cons: AREA WITH COMFORTABLE ARMCHAIR OR CHAIR TO RELAX BEFORE RETIRING DINING CHAIRS TO HARD AFTER A LONG DRIVE (8 HOURS)
Location: BEAMISH AND THE WALL ARE BOTH WORTH A VISIT.
GOOD BASE, CLOSE TO THE GALLERY'S (SHOPS), NEAR MOTORWAY,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Pleasant staff very helpful.Lovely breakfast
Cons: Nothing
Very pleasant overnight stay on route to Edinburgh.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Old tied room needs updating the bathroom was pretty bad
5 out of 5
by Shona

Simple but clean, comfy, quiet and friendly

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel set in just the right area to access everything we wanted. Simple facilities but clean, comfortable and quiet. The shower looked small but was really powerful, which was really unexpected! The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Had breakfast at the hotel 1 of the mornings and it was hot, fresh and very tasty. All round this hotel was great value and we'll definitely stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst room I've ever stayed in

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Tiny, dirty, damp, no sockets, damaged walls and the walls were that thin I even replied to the woman in the room next door because I thought it was daughter talking