Ratings based on 463 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, UK

Location ok

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Not a lot.
Cons: A clearer sign to the entrance. For further comments see above.
Location: See above.
Staff were friendly and welcoming and there was plenty of parking space. Although basic the room was clean. There were paper drinking cups provided but no glasses in the bathroom for toothbrushes, etc. The "set" of towels was one small bath towel in the bathroom and another left on the shelf in the wardrobe/cupboard, if required. Restaurant was clean and breakfast adequate. Fortunately, we were only staying two nights. When checking out I was presented with a bill for the breakfasts which I thought I had booked and was in with the price. Location was ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

hotel ok

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: we booked breakfast for our two night stay on a special offer £20 that was good value would recommend it
Cons: needs a facelift and sort out the stock problems
Location: good location near to Newcastle and beamish museum a good toby carvery 100yrds down road we had our evening meals there
hotel basic but no complaints because it was priced right good breakfast. Only complaint ran out of toilet rolls on first night went to reception had none in stock still had none when we left the following morning. hope this review helps. thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from sussex england

nice hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: very quite
Location: very near shopping centres short drive to the coast and sunderland, Gateshead and newcastle
everything fine except staff thought we booked in for 5 nights although we had our booking form showing 6 nights and where going to make us pay for extra night until they noticed it was their mistake after that they couldn't do enough for us
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south wales

Close to all the places of interest

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Friendly enough of staff &location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Loads of history &culture
Hotel very helpful would stay again when I the area nothing to much trouble to help from all staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted Jul 4, 2017
The room itself was fine but on both evenings of our stay the room smelt of rotten eggs! The first night I went down to reception to see if we could be moved but the hotel was fully booked. They gave me some air freshener to help disguise the smell while we slept. The night staff were very apologetic and helpful. By the morning the smell had gone, we were offered another room for the second night but as the smell had gone we decided as it was only one more night we'd stay where we were. When returning to the hotel later that evening the smell had come back again! And by then the hotel was full again. Also the bed was 2 singles put together with no mattress protector on top so when I rolled over to have a cuddle all I got was the split down the middle!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Needs decor updating broken lamp just left on side

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Broken lamp just left on work top potential H&S issue cob webs everywhere needs painting everywhere as it looked stained
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An excellent cheap hotel stay

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Value for money
Cons: Hotel was in good condition but a little old fashoned in decor
On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who was extremely helpful with advising us on best route and parking at our destination the following day. Considering how good the price was for this hotel we were impressed with the overall quality of the hotel. I would definately stay here for future visits near Newcastle and Durham
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Does what it says on the tin

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Good rooms, large bed and bath.
Cons: Wifi could be free
Location: Beamish open air museum close by which is a fantastic museum and well worth seeing.
Excellent budget hotel situated in pleasant location. Very good value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea

Decent place to stay on a budget

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Location close to A1M, cheerful staff, cost.
Cons: Décor is a bit dated. Waterworks on ground floor needs to be sorted so it doesn't make a racket when you flush the toilet!
Having stayed here on a few occasions I have encountered problems with noise on ground floor from flushing the toilets, which is quite loud. This time I asked to move rooms, which I did to one on the first floor. Much better, no noise from flushing. However, don't expect to have a comfortable bath if you want a soak. I'm 5'6", and couldn't fully stretch my legs out in the bath! I use this hotel, despite some small issues, as a base when I visit family, friends & find the staff very friendly. It does the job at a reasonable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Met the needs for the night

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Staff, very convenient for one night stop. Did the job, just.
Cons: Complete refurbishment and take note of guests requests
Location: Good location, easy access to all areas of northeast
Asked when booking for accessible room, did not get one. Room was tight trying to use wheelchair. That being said, room was okay although very tired, in fact almost snoring. Needs refurbished but rates reflect this. Beds comfortable and clean.