Ratings based on 358 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

very nice, clean, like new

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: room cleanliness, furnitures, beds like new. shuttles buses in the morning.
Location: The National baseball Park is very close. The Metrorail Navy Yard is a short walk away.
Very nice, clean hotel room. Near metrorail Navy Yard. They offer also shuttle bus to the musieums area in the morning. Very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Highly recommend!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The proximitu to the National Mall and the Nationals park made the location just perfect and walkable. And i cannot say enough about the staff! Just so efficient and friendly and always ready with great tips to share. Stayed for 3 nights. I arrived very early, close to 10am, and they were able to get me a room right away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

$41 for parking.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Lobby and rooms where nice! Not the best but nice. Was vary disappointed when I found out that I was pretty much hand cuffed to pay $41 for parking which is located under the hotel. My other option would of been parking on the street and risk my car getting broken into and having to move it at 6am before I can get ticketed. The hallways that take you to your rooms are pretty plain and kind of sketch looking. I went to my first room and it completely smelled like cigarette. I immediately called the front desk asking for a new room and they switched it with no problems. Last thing that was somewhat of a disappointment was the breakfast. It was 13.95 + tax, no it wasn't free like most hotels. The quality wasn't worth the price. Over all I would rate this hotel a 2.5 out of 5.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Not within walking distance of eateries, shops etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Gina, Hotel Management
Our area is fast developing with numerous construction going on and being informed that they are business and residential buildings with retail outlets i.e. restaurants and shops upcoming. There are currently restaurants starting from a block away from the hotel onwards; the list and directions are available at our front desk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Capitol Hill

Posted Apr 11, 2017
For the price, it is a nice hotel with close proximity to Capitol Hill. A few setbacks: no room available despite arriving well after the standard 3pm check in time, room is outdated, no fridge, restroom is very outdated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Gina, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and we will address the issues you mentioned.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Our room had problems with the AC and when we called they came to fix it three times and never worked. At the end (last night of trip) the changed us to a new room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Happy to have stayed here!

Posted Mar 30, 2017
This is a great, clean and quiet hotel. We stayed 4 nights here as a family and the staff couldn't have been more kind and courteous! Keep up the good work, Capitol Skyline staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Gina, Hotel Management
Thank you for your excellent rating and we look forward to your next visit to Washington, DC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hooksett NH

One night stay, Staff friendly - Great!

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff made the stay more pleasant
Cons: Drain in shower did not drain, yick!
Location: Convenient to restaurants and capital hill if government is purpose of visiting.
Convenient location if visiting capital hill, easy walking distance to hill, 15 minutes. Enough restaurants within 5 to 10 minutes walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Gina, Hotel Management
Thank you for your very satisfactory rating and we look forward to your next visit to Washington, DC.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from CT

Cheap

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Proximity to public transit, friendly staff.
Cons: Lighting in the room. The forced-air unit, including its controls. The breakfast buffet.
Location: Nothing to do nearby, unless the Nationals are in town.
This is a good place to stay if you are on a budget and do not have any aesthetic- or comfort-related concerns. I will say first and foremost that the staff were all very friendly and helpful. It is a relatively short walk from the Navy Yard Metro station and from the bus station, so public transit is accessible. The lobby is very nice, marble floors and all. But the room itself left a lot to be desired. Paint was peeling and chipped all over the walls and ceiling. The closet had a big heavy curtain, rather than a door, which impeded my ability to shut the door of the room every time I opened it. The forced-air unit's controls were old and out-of-date, and while I tried to keep the cool air blowing slightly and quietly, I woke up both nights drenched in sweat with heat blowing full-blast. The lighting is absolutely horrible. Every light is that harsh white fluorescent color, which gave me a headache both nights as I tried to read before going to bed. A new coat of paint, a new forced-air system (or better yet, central air) with improved and functional controls, and new lights would change this rating from a 2 to a 4 or 5. Also, do not go to the breakfast buffet. The eggs were clearly from powder, the coffee was sour and burned, and the pastries were clearly from a box. It felt like the continental breakfast at a Motel 6, not a $15 breakfast buffet a few blocks from the Capitol.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Gina, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We will address the issues you mentioned as we continue to work on improvements with all departments.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ky

Do not waste your money

Posted Mar 22, 2017
The hotel has a horrible stench upon entering and through out hotel. Has no a/c. The bed and pillows were horrible. Worst hotel I have stayed at. Sorry but I was very disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Gina, Hotel Management
We are sorry to know about your disappointing reviews of the room and bedding conditions. We would like to know if you communicated to the Front Desk the issues to be moved to another room. Rest assured that we will address the issues you communicated.