Ratings based on 3,384 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, FL

Spring in DC

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: I like the professional, yet interested and helpful way the employees interacted with guests. Built in 1906 The Churchill is just a lovely gem.
Our trip to DC in April was a great experience. The Churchill Hotel was a big part of that experience. Everyone that worked for the Churchill Hotel was friendly and helpful. Not one unkind word or attitude. I love old hotels that have lovingly been cared for and preserved. The intimate nature of this small hotel surrounded by mega hotel giants gave us the ultimate cared-for experience. A short walk to the metro in either direction gave us a neighborhood view of Washington we could have missed. Dinner and breakfast there gave us a grounded, pleasant way to start and end our day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by The Churchill Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5-star review! We appreciate your compliments and will be sure to pass them onto our team. We hope to see you again at the Churchill Hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet historical Hotel at Dupont Circle

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Personnel is extremely friendly and react quickly to any requests.
Location: The nearest metro station DuPont Circle is 3 min by walk. The area is full of restaurants and shops down to Connecticut ave towards the City Center. N
Dates of lodging: April 15-18 The hotel is old (historical), but newly renovated. Good sound isolated: you do not hear the busy Connecticut ave in front of the hotel. Free Wi-Fi provides you uninterrupted internet service with the speed of 2Mb/sec. It's enough for surfing the net. If you need the faster service (watching movies etc), you can upgrade it up to 6Mb/sec for $9.99 a day. Parking is valet only, but with unlimited in/out options, $46 in 24 hrs. You just drop your keys to a receptionist at arrival. The personnel will take care of your car by themselves. If you need your car again, just call them in 5 min prior. No hassle at all. There are not any free or cheaper parking lots in the closest area. Rooms are clean with convenient beds. We ordered a suit with 2 double beds and 1 sofa, but in the reality we've got it w/o a sofa, but were provided with extra rolling bed free. After renovation they reduced rooms capacities, where sofas were located in order to have more sound isolation. At least they explained us so. Rooms look fresh, with no any unpleasant odors. Ask for rooms, which are not near elevators. They are quieter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Nicer older hotel with charming character. Excellent location within easy walking distance to many embassies located in the surrounding area. Variety of dinning nearby as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, Clean, Friendly staff

Posted Apr 15, 2017
My family loved staying in this hotel. Very well kept.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Great old world charm in a modern setting

Posted Apr 12, 2017
My fiancé and I came to D.C. For a short gbts Ewing vacation. The Churchill did not disappoint! The building has an old world charm with many modern and contemporary amenities. The staff is absolutely excellent and just for them I would return again
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Mouna, Hotel Management
Dear Kokil, Thank you for your amazing review. We sincerely appreciate you taking the opportunity to respond! We are delighted that the design of the hotel and the amenities come meet your needs and our staff expectation, as well. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kindest Regards, The Churchill team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

convenient and old world feel

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Near lots of restaurants and great area to walk around. Also close to metro station.
Cons: Wifi reliability.
Staff was always kind and respectful, room clean. And they have Lavazza coffee, so nice to have decent coffee in the room! Basic wifi cut out all the time. Room was small, not even a chair or table. If I were to stay again I would go for one of the larger rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Mouna, Hotel Management
Dear Joyce, Thank you for your thoughtful words and sharing your guest experience from your stay. We sincerely hope to share more opportunities to serve you when you should return to Washington, D.C. Kindest Regards, The Churchill Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Décor and atmosphere; staff
Location: Near Embassy Row, very charming neighborhood
I loved the look and feel of the place, not your ordinary chain. Very beautifully decorated and nice comfortable, spacious rooms---even had a separate study for work. The only down side is that they didn't have many amenities---very limited choices for food, snacks, etc. But the location was in a very nice area, close to several pubs, restaurants, stores, and transportation. If the weather would have been nicer, walking everywhere to get what you needed wouldn't have been a problem at all! Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Beautiful hotel Nice staff Good location Very nice room and huge and fancy bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Premier botique hotel in central DC

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Quiet, lovely, comfortable rooms in a great location near DuPont Circle. Small room off bedroom perfect for working at large desk. Restaurant has good selection but slow service & variable quality. Excellent, friendly hotel staff who were extremely helpful. Our second stay & not our last!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Blown away when we entered to a three room suite

Posted Mar 13, 2017
We loved being on CT Ave. we walked to the zoo ,cathedral, and many great restaurants!