Ratings based on 1,011 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2017
The hotel was very nice however there were a few stains on the comforter when we checked in. Also, the ventilation system was a little loud so it took some extra time to fall asleep. Otherwise it is a great hotel; the staff are very accommodating and extremely professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

amazing hotel with lots of character!

Posted Feb 5, 2017
We loved it! Our suite was spacious and elegant. Staff was friendly and helpful - especially Kacem at the front desk who went the extra mile to make our stay great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

very Almost perfect

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Great location, extremely courteous and attentive front desk and door staff, beautiful building, well appointed. Very nicely furnished.
Cons: Housekeeping. See above remarks about cleanliness of room.
The housekeeping staff was not up to par. After our room was "cleaned", the shower was still littered with hairs, and so was the coverlet on the bed. I was appalled at such a slovenly job. The hotel management was kind enough to comp us for one night's bill when I showed them pictures at the front desk upon checkout. No doubt, the housekeeper in question was reminded that certain standards are a requirement, not an option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA

Very nice.

Posted Jan 29, 2017
The hotel is clean and modern. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Jan 26, 2017
The ornate moulding, the beautifully-appointed rooms, located in Kalorama Heights, we felt very safe walking to several different destinations from our hotel. It was close enough to walk easily to Georgetown, but even during more dramatic events at the Mall, our hotel was peaceful and safe, because it was located just far enough away that it was removed from it all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando florida

Great staff and location.

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Great staff and location comfortable accommodations, historic and updated for your needs. Spacious room AC and heat worked well sheets and bedding comfortable. Breakfast at hotel great and average pricing ok. Coffee makers in room and towels were fluffy. Used Lift for most of travel which was better then the metro during the inauguration.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Great and friendly staff. No complaints. Could not ask for a better experience during my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Great 1st stay in DC!

Posted Jan 20, 2017
The hotel staff was extremely accommodating. I arrived in the city early in the morning and they were able to arrange an early check-in which was wonderful. The room size and features were also great! The room had everything I needed, was very clean, and a great size with a view of the city. The only thing that was strange was a painting that was hanging in the room- a girl holding a duck (some other posters have mentioned). It was a little creepy, but other than that I could not have asked for a better room. The lobby had complimentary coffee and the staff were always willing to offer directions or arrange transportation. This stay was my first time in DC and I am so pleased with my trip and my stay here! Will definitely return if in the city again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Rooms are beautiful and spacious. Historic building.
Cons: Bring back coffee makers in the room and ice machines.
Very nice staff. Great location. Restaurant is good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Bare minimum in Dupont.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Cons: Parking, of course like all in Dupont, is horrible.
So, they say they specialize in service. And by that they mean they have staff ready to park your car and take your bags to your room for tips. Parking each night (very limited spaces) will set you back $34. Outside of that the staff were friendly, but didn't offer much of anything else. Rooms lack any kind of coffee service and one tiny trash can. The WORST is the heating/air which is central and you will either bake or freeze in the room. I would not have stayed if I had known this. The hallways also smell odd like a mixture of nasty food and cleaning products. They did a nice job making the surroundings look good, but otherwise it is only a place to sleep--they do a really bad job of making you feel like you aren't in a really old remodeled hotel that is overpriced. The other kicker (this is small, bur really??) the staff member told me I would have to go next door to the other hotel to get ice/snacks because you cannot even get this here....other than the bed they have no amenities. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone--they only want your $100 plus per night and money to park your car. It is clear this is just a business venture trying to make money. I would bet they won't last much longer, as they aren't customer service driven. I tried to stay away from the big name hotels and support someone else, but I will go back to them, as they don't try to skate by on the bare minimum like this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Churchill Customer Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. We are sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay. It's very important for our guests to provide feedback so we can improve our services. We pride ourselves on giving our guests great service and product and sorry to see this was not the case. We will look into the issues you mentioned above about the heating, service and use them as opportunities to improve our hotel. Thank you again for your honest feedback for it is appreciated.