Ratings based on 3,331 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice hotel with great location

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Restaurant is very nice and has a relaxing feel to it. It's like you're in a study. Hotel staff are wonderful
Cons: AC in our room was not working
Location: Close to many restaurants and the metro
This is the second time I've stayed at the Churchill. The hotel has a lot of charm. It is kept very clean and the staff are all wonderful. The rooms are nice. My only issue during this stay is the room was hot and the AC didn't work. When I realized it was late so I didn't call the front desk. However the windows did open so that was nice to be able to get fresh air.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2017
The hotel was very nice however there were a few stains on the comforter when we checked in. Also, the ventilation system was a little loud so it took some extra time to fall asleep. Otherwise it is a great hotel; the staff are very accommodating and extremely professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

amazing hotel with lots of character!

Posted Feb 5, 2017
We loved it! Our suite was spacious and elegant. Staff was friendly and helpful - especially Kacem at the front desk who went the extra mile to make our stay great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

very Almost perfect

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Great location, extremely courteous and attentive front desk and door staff, beautiful building, well appointed. Very nicely furnished.
Cons: Housekeeping. See above remarks about cleanliness of room.
The housekeeping staff was not up to par. After our room was "cleaned", the shower was still littered with hairs, and so was the coverlet on the bed. I was appalled at such a slovenly job. The hotel management was kind enough to comp us for one night's bill when I showed them pictures at the front desk upon checkout. No doubt, the housekeeper in question was reminded that certain standards are a requirement, not an option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA

Very nice.

Posted Jan 29, 2017
The hotel is clean and modern. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Jan 26, 2017
The ornate moulding, the beautifully-appointed rooms, located in Kalorama Heights, we felt very safe walking to several different destinations from our hotel. It was close enough to walk easily to Georgetown, but even during more dramatic events at the Mall, our hotel was peaceful and safe, because it was located just far enough away that it was removed from it all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando florida

Great staff and location.

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Great staff and location comfortable accommodations, historic and updated for your needs. Spacious room AC and heat worked well sheets and bedding comfortable. Breakfast at hotel great and average pricing ok. Coffee makers in room and towels were fluffy. Used Lift for most of travel which was better then the metro during the inauguration.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Great and friendly staff. No complaints. Could not ask for a better experience during my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Great 1st stay in DC!

Posted Jan 20, 2017
The hotel staff was extremely accommodating. I arrived in the city early in the morning and they were able to arrange an early check-in which was wonderful. The room size and features were also great! The room had everything I needed, was very clean, and a great size with a view of the city. The only thing that was strange was a painting that was hanging in the room- a girl holding a duck (some other posters have mentioned). It was a little creepy, but other than that I could not have asked for a better room. The lobby had complimentary coffee and the staff were always willing to offer directions or arrange transportation. This stay was my first time in DC and I am so pleased with my trip and my stay here! Will definitely return if in the city again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Rooms are beautiful and spacious. Historic building.
Cons: Bring back coffee makers in the room and ice machines.
Very nice staff. Great location. Restaurant is good.