Ratings based on 383 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MD

Means Well But Falls Short

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Plenty of towels. Lots of hangers in closet. Little else.
Cons: The heating/cooling system was the principal reason the room was uncomfortable. How that can be improved without major renovations is beyond me.
Location: Irrelevant to my stay.
I spent one night here recently. The hotel is unpretentious and strives for professionalism, but my stay here was problematic. My room was cold, and after two hours the anemic HVAC still had not managed to make it warm enough for me to shower comfortably. When I called the front desk, the harried desk clerk told me to turn the heat "down" (!) and that the room would warm up eventually. I called the desk again and asked for another room. They offered me one, but it was as cold as the first. The mattress was hard, the television showed a fuzzy "Analogue" picture, and the aforementioned heating system ran nonstop the entire night. The breakfast included in the price of the room was continental and unappetizing, and finally, believe it or not, water dripped from the skylight right onto my table when I sat down. Admittedly, that last detail is a bit comic, but the bottom line for me is that I did not rest well, did not enjoy my stay, and cannot, therefore, recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Mold, chipped furniture, the vent was full of black dust, and there was an unpleasant smell,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hoteI staff were not responsive to broken jacuzzi

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
I picked the place because it had a jacuzzi. It was broken, thogh hotel staff Kept saying it'd be fixed soon. They finally said it'd be fixed in 10 minutes... At 9:50pm, with it closing at 10 (it still never got fixed). I won't be back unless the jacuzzi is fixed and I get reparation for this past stay...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MD

Close hotel to most shops but...

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Orbitz
It runs more like a motel than a hotel. The room I stayed was super cold because the heater couldn't get hot. The continental breakfast was a disappointment. One staff member kept hovering for some strange reason around the breakfast. The grounds and facilities are alright. The front desk staff are very nice and courteous.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great spot to stay with kids

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great experience here. Stayed for one evening after a long day of travel. The front desk cleck upgraded our room to the pool area. The pool and hot tub area were perfect for letting the kids unwind. There was a small putting course and shuffleboard for them as well, all indoors. We enjoyed a pizza delivery by the pool and the breakfast buffet area is roomy and right at the pool area as well. With kids, I would stay again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff 4 star (food Facilities)1.5 star

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
i attended a singles dance the elevator was not working to the second floor where the dance was which was pain since i had been walking. The service was good overall. the buffet breakfast was sub-par for hotels in this price range.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, United States of America

Nice hotlel close to umd

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Close to Washington DC by the metro shuttle service from the hotel to the dc heated swimming pool
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Questionable

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Had oreo cookies on the floor. There was feces smeared on the toilet seat. There was a huge gap in the door so light and cold air came through. Fire alarm went off and rang for about 45 minutes before they figured out how to turn it off. The place was not clean or well kept. Only thing good about this hotel was the convenience to The University of Maryland.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Everything!
Location: Location is very close to Maryland University, restaurants, shopping, etc.
Entrance to the hotel was not inviting. We stayed on the second floor (no elevators). The hairdryer didn't work and when we asked for a replacement, we never received one. Drain in the bathtub was clogged. Our heater started to overheat in the middle of the night and the fumes were horrible. We had to open our door to just air it out. Door to the bathroom needs to be repaired. Carpeting in room needs to be replaced....filthy!!! Entire side wall moves when you close the door. Needless to say....not a good experience.