Ratings based on 879 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Stayed here many times.

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: great eats nearby and access to metro
Location: Near White House and very walkable
Great location very accessible to metro and near great eats. Sichuan Pavilion on K and Bottom Line on I are to good eats.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jan 12, 2017
the location of the hotel is great. Very close to White House. And the hotel staff is nice. However, the staff forgot to order the car to airport as I requested when I check-in. And what I ordered is a queen bed room. They just put two twin mattresses together and call it a queen bad.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisy

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Couldn't sleep at all, there was men working outside hotel at 1:30 am unloading a truck.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aus

Great location - facilities lacking

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Great location and very close to all major monuments. Only thing going for this hotel. Hotel staff (all but one, who was great) were not helpful and the cleaning staff not very good. One day they didn't change our towels and the next day they removed our dirty towels but didn't replace them with new ones so we had no towels? When requesting new towels it took a long time for them to be deliverers. Fitness room small and run down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Economical hotel that's close to everything.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Staff, cleanliness and easy access to METRO for transportation needs.
Location: Within a couple of blocks of White House.
If you are looking for economical hotel that's close to everything whether walking, needing access to public transportation (both bus and rail - they are at the front door of hotel), and just looking for a clean place to sleep, exercise, and conduct business, this is your place if you are just touring the city. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Sonia at the front desk assisted with storing luggage after check out and made sure we knew how to get to the airport on METRO rail since the rail stop was closed for construction at the hotel (hint: check METRO frequently if using it - lots of track construction and maintenance activity going on right now in DC).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Good no-nonsense for either sight-seeing or work

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Location. Metro access. Multiple electrical outlets and USB charge ports.
Cons: Better TV channels.
Location: This is one of closest hotels to the White House, or at least in the top 5.
I stayed 2 nights for business meeting but I can see how this would be a good site for a vacation stay if the goal is sight-seeing around the capital. The good: Location is atop one of the entrance portals to the Metro Farragut West station, but the gates are closed on Saturdays and Sundays so you need to use another portal on weekends. You can travel from National Airport to this hotel in 20 minutes. The room has many power outlets (US 3-prong) and a pair of USB charge ports, one of them high amperage for charging a tablet. A chilled water dispenser is in the hallway. The ice machine is in the basement. A decent desk and free Wifi means this is a great place for getting work done. The restaurant downstairs had a good happy hour evening menu. The exercise room is small and pretty basic, but it's there. There's a 24-hour 7-Eleven a half-block away that's not at all obvious even when you walk by it, across from Farragut Square. What you give up: Although the room is not tiny, the room appearance is notch up from a dorm room. This is not for honeymooners, unless the honeymooners are political/cultural/history buffs. TV as of January 2017 had a limited set of high-definition cable channels and about half the channels seemed to be in a fuzzy analog format. Other need to knows: if no one is at the front desk when checking out, you could use the automated check-out on the wall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmington, DE

Great location for the price.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Location and price.
Location: Location is good - near a Metro station.
The room was small - but very well appointed. The hotel's staff is very friendly and helpful. Dinning at the hotel was a pleasant surprise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

2 good employees, Everything is extra.

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Location was where I needed it to be, to minimize cost. And the one dude at the front desk who told me about the 7-11 across the way from the park.
Cons: Showers, Guest incentives (Maybe a light breakfast), Re-design the rooms more practically, replace damaged furniture and rugs. More trusting policies.
Location: Close to the Metro Red Line, Very convenient in that sense. Right near the White House, Safe neighborhood.
Granted I am probably not their usual clientele, a few people at the desk weren't even aware that I was a guest, one of which treated me with kindness, the other, very coldly. The only good thing for me was location was where I needed to be. That was literally it. No continental breakfast, Elevator needed a keycard to operate, very weird setup. Almost Fort Knox like for no reason. What are people gonna steal? The coffee or outdated computers in your lounge? My room was bizarre to say the least. Whoever designed the floorplans must be a sadist. The Television was to the left of the bed, not center, so to watch anything involved me having to stay to the left side of my bed at all times. Or even worse sit on the weird damaged seat that had no armrests on it. The computer chair at the desk I never used was modern and sleek though. The shower was lazily thrown together, so water accumulated at the bottom quickly, and the shower curtain was completely useless, one lonely curtain that served absolutely no purpose. Needless to say, putting any clothing in my bathroom to change into after a shower would be ill advised if I didn't want them to be soaking wet. Plus there was hair in my bathroom in weird random places. To be honest, the majority of employees I encountered did not appear to be happy with their jobs. And I can understand why. Hotel didn't have anything special going on. Outdated, and bizarre. Great location though!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Close distance to the White House

Posted Jan 8, 2017
This hotel has everything you need free reusesable water bottles and water stations to refill them they also have a club room where they have free coffee and sometimes snacks. It's next to the metro station so you can hop on metro, close restaurants and shops. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Location

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Location: Excellent location!! It was directly over a DC Metro Stop.
I loved the hotel and location but external noise (coming into the room from the hallway/ elevator/other rooms) was a significant problem .