Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ATL

Interesting looking hotel, very convenient

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Right on University of Maryland's campus, which makes it very convenient for anyone visiting the school
The hotel looks more like a large house or campus building. It is very modern inside and the bed was comfortable. The room is very small, but well appointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel very close to metro and college

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Hotel was nice and staff accommodating. Shuttle staff very polite and knowledgeable. Staff at the common restaurant not very friendly. Felt like I was bothering them when asked for coffee and pastry. Pastries not available after 11 am and was told I needed to order lunch. I didn't want lunch. Lighting in bathroom made it difficult to put makeup on. Full size mirror behind bed and could not get full view of body down to shoes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elmira,NY

Perfect location for U of Md. visits

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Only one dining option .otherwise must drive. Parking garage under construction. All other aspects fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Great location, no major drawbacks

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Location: The National Archives at College Park is close
Pros: Nice decor, sheets and pillows. Shuttle to Archives and Metro station. Good food in the restaurant. Clean rooms and friendly staff. Cons: Hot in the room, even at 69 degrees. Little privacy because the bathroom walls and door were frosted glass. No fan in bathroom. Breakfast was expensive. Bright thermostat light, had to hang a shirt over it. No vending machine and pricey "market." No bottled water, even in the "market." Business center computer is charged by the minute to use.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lots of parking. Started cleaning windows at 7 am

Posted May 1, 2016
Was given a room upgrade to a suite which was nice but they started cleaning windows at 7:00 am with a lift which caused a lot of noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful but

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Beautiful , high end decor but room too small for the price. I felt cramped
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Loved everything!

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Great king room in building housing the restaurant and fitness center. Clean and cozy; great fitness facility and nice to be able to get a cappuccino and a good breakfast at your hotel.overall a very positive experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice Hotel Close to Everything

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Location, Location, Location.....I also like the look of the lobby and the room. It was nice.
Cons: I would prefer a bed like the Doubletree one. These beds are a little too firm for my taste.
Location: This is near downtown DC and other locations in Maryland. It's central to a number of schools and there's easy access to all the major highways.
I stayed here when I checked my son into his new dorm. After the long drive I just wanted to get a good night's sleep. I was pleasantly surprised! I was in the 2nd building (there are two) and it looks to have been recently remodeled. They did a good job; very aesthetically pleasing. My room was listed on Expedia as cozy. It was smaller than your typical hotel room, but I loved it. It actually had a king sized bed and a really cool bathroom that was encased in glass. I liked how the tv was installed in the wall and also the lights that encased it. It was extremely quiet. They have a policy about loud talking after certain hours and guests seem honor the quiet request. The bed was comfy, but just a tad too firm for me (I prefer Doubletree's beds). Despite that minor complaint I still got a great night's sleep. I will definitely stay here again when I come to visit my son. It's in a great location. It was convenient to everything that do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Nice hotel next to UMD near stadium

Posted Aug 18, 2015
We needed a hotel to stay while at UMD for a day. The hotel was clean and quiet. The staff was very pleasant and nice. They had a jar of complementary large chocolate chip cookies on the front desk. We did request nonsmoking and from moment we entered the room it clearly smelled like someone had been smoking in the room. We chose not to say anything because we aren't very sensitive, it was only one night and we were too tired to go through the process. If it were going to be a longer stay we would have had to have a different room. The free WiFi was not good. Poor connectivity experienced trying a couple different devices, so it was not the device. This is the second Marriott we stayed in within a month, different states, that had poor free Wi-Fi so I would say to be aware of that if you plan on relying on their free WiFi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CO

Way out

Posted May 17, 2015
I travel to DC occasionally, and usually stay close to the city. This weekend was crazy busy so there were no hotels in my price range still available close in. Thankfully I found the Marriott in College Park. Wonderful hotel, less expensive then others, but still way over priced and very far out. Shuttle driver to the Metro was wounderful.