Ratings based on 1,739 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WV

Hotel closing on Oct 16. Stay away!

Posted Oct 4, 2015
When checked in everything seemed to good. The hotel staff was friendly and the lobby looked great. Once we got in the the elevator it was downhill. The carpet looked like it had never seen a vacuum and once the doors opened to the 2nd floor it got worse. The carpet was dirty and had black stains all over it. The lamp shades that lined the hallway were torn and falling apart. We opened the door to our room and was hit with a very strong cleaning agent smell that mad our eyes water. Our attention was immediately redirected to the lovely view of the dumpsters in the alley right outside the window. We went to the front desk and explained the problems and they upgraded us to a suite on the top floor. We hoped it would be better but the hallway was still trashy and even though the room was bigger, it was still dirty. All of be furniture, except the bed, had stains and burns on it and looked as if was falling apart. The shower had hair in it and would not drain. If that was one of the best rooms we knew it wasn't going to get any better so we stuck with it. After asking the front desk why the bar wasn't open, they informed us that the hotel was closing on Oct 16. In my opinion, they should inform you of that ahead of time so you won't be expecting a bar or room service. We could have spent $10 more and stayed at another kimpton 2 blocks down that was 1000 times nicer than this and had the amenities that was listed.
3 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from cardiff

Character hotel well located for eating out

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly staff
Cons: Small problem with shower not resolved during our stay. Another room offered but not enough of a problem to move
Location: Close to local restaurants and bars.
Boutique type hotel with a phsycadelic theme to our room. Very limited wardrobe space but room comfortable and beds very clean. Room well serviced and changed regularly. Staff very helpful. Some building work taking place outside during our stay. Hotel well located for the 15th street kerbside restaurant area. Washington centre about 25 minutes walk. We enjoyed out stay.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Quiet neighborhood

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: The price was very good for the location
Cons: It looked like the chair to the desk had not been cleaned in sometime --probably just and oversight
Location: About a 15 minute walk to the front of the White House and downtown DC
Looking for something different and not expensive -since i did not plan to spend a lot of time in the room - worked well - a little farther from the Metro than I had hoped but not to bad - 10 minutes walking
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enough space

Posted Sep 27, 2015
It's not that supper clean but acceptable. Water pressed at the shower was good. Within 1 block, there are CVS, Whole foods market, and bus stop to Union station. Metro station is a little bit far.
2 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Quick stay

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Staff was not helpful. TV did not work properly . Initially check-In staff did not accommodate needs. I paid on Expedia in advance to avoid hotel putting hold on my card, however hotel did put a hold of $100 which may cause inconvenience during a planned trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Average at best. Not the Kimpton experience I've come to expect.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Awful service. Not clean at all. Housekeeping was not attentive.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden charges left and right

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Checked in hoping for a nice little vacation, but upon check in they try to valet my car for 45 dollars a night, and then they also hold 200 dollars on your card if you decide to charge something to your room. Oh and by the way, a blt is 12 dollars and that comes with a 5 dollar delivery to room charge. Overall the bed was nice, everything else was terrible, don't stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Let Down

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Sleeping space was perfect for a family of five
Cons: More realistic pictures online
Location: It was a short cab ride or everything was withing a mile or two if you don't mind the exercise.
It was my three daughters first time in Washington DC and I wanted it to be a great experience. We were really excited about the hotel based on the pictures online. However, it was too good to be true. Once checked in I asked to be moved and the staff clearly told a lie but I didn't want to ruin the family vacation by getting upset over a room. The view to the back dirty alley way through the broken window was not the creepy experience I wanted my daughters to see. The online pictures are deceiving. The room itself was clean and other than the lie to not move us, the staff was very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

lack of clean towels!

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Stayed 3 nights. Only received fresh towels on our last night after returning back from dinner, after telling front desk a couple of times about them being forgotten. Ado parking for your car is extremely high at $45 per night! All in all, wouldn't return to this hotel, and not up to par.