Ratings based on 909 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

good reasons this hotel is so much cheaper

Posted Apr 13, 2017
It hasn't been renovated in at least 40 years. New marble sink in the bathroom, yes, and in general the basics all worked (except room temperature control). But there was a general feeling of seediness that, frankly, made it very hard to sleep. Since that was after all the main point, I later regretted not spending considerably more to get a pleasant room elsewhere. Someone was coughing on the other side of the thin wall. If I hadn't gotten up and dug out a pair of earplugs I was grateful to find, I probably wouldn't have slept at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silicon Valley

Older Hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Old style, very clean.
Cons: In control of room temperature
Location: Walking distance to the Mall and lots of restaurant options
Staff friendly, requested 2 times ceiling fan in the room not working. Housekeeping gave us a fan, room on the warm side could not control temperature of room. 11th Floor room very warm
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staten Island, NY

Convenient area to stay .

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: The convenient location.
Location: The Mall and White House was only 10 minutes away which lent itself to evening strolls or getting to museums very easily .
Only a ten minute walk to the Mall or the White House, the subway was only 2 minutes away and plenty of restaurants are in the area. This meant we didn't have to worry about a car or transportation. The rooms had TV's and wi-fi and were comfortable with very helpful staff. I've already passed the word on to friends.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Metro Center hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2017
We needed a place for one night and preferred to be central to the mall, Hotel Harrington fit the bill. We had a good dinner at Harry's below the hotel, the service was excellent and the food was cooked perfectly. Our room was fairly cramped with not much space to move around the bed but again, we only needed a place to crash for the night. The bathroom would have been better if it had more lights, an electrical outlet, and no hair in the tub. They offered free luggage storage which was very helpful as we had almost a full day in town before moving on. Keep in mind that this is apparently the oldest running hotel in D.C. so some of the newer amenities you may be used to probably won't exist here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, but poor wifi and AC too noisy

Posted Apr 6, 2017
It does the job for a business trip. Everything is close, no need to use the train
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Location, location, location, price

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Price, location, and staff.
Cons: The place is just old and dated.
Location: Short hop to the White House, Smithsonian, Ford Museum, etc... This hotel rocks for the location.
This hotel is close to everything and that is really the biggest thing it has going for it. The staff are friendly and were helpful when asked questions. Once in our room we found a bottle of salsa under one bed, a partially empty water bottle in the window, and an overall run down room. Again this is about price and location so knowing that going into it we were satisfied with our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Over priced hotel.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Great location.
Cons: The smell in the room and the AC unit.
Location: It is near by everything.
There was a bad smell in the room. The AC unit was not working properly. Room too small.Staff was fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old but good for the price

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Location, parice
Cons: Coffe makers in rooms
Location: All the major attractions downtown Washington DC
This is an older hotel, you will not find some details that would be expected in more expensive places. There is no hair dryer, microwave, coffee maker in the room, but there is perhaps the most important appliance for people traveling on budget - a refrigerator. The location is excellent! You can have breakfast buffet for about $13.50 (including taxes) or a-la-cart breakfast at a restaurant collocated with the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel for people traveling on budget and who want to do a lot of sightseeing in Washington.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Apr 2, 2017
If you want a hotel in a prime location without breaking the bank this is your hotel. We walked everywhere and nothing was more than 1 mile away. Very reasonably priced but its an old hotel that needs a few updates. I liked that we had a room with a double bed and 3 twins so each kid had their own bed. We didn't spend much time in the rooms so this worked for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Great location, Good hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2017
We knew in advance this was an old hotel, so no modern controls for heat/ac, but we were always comfortable, and given its location it was very inexpensive. We were on the sixth floor and water temperature for showering fluctuated quite a bit. The room was clean and key cards were proximity type, which allowed opening the door by holding my wallet with the keycard inside against the lock. Staff was great, front desk noticed my AAA card on check-in and applied about a $20/night discount. Breakfast was not included, but for $11/person there is a buffet with bacon, eggs, bagels, oatmeal, breads, pastries, coffee, juice, and other items, or you could order meals. We were very happy with the buffet and dinner was also good at the hotel. The best part is the location, many free museums and the monument are just a few blocks away, the Capitol is about 1 mile away and Lincoln memorial a little over a mile.