Ratings based on 1,121 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Very comfortble

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Its nice place for all voyage. Exellent service, clean and comfortble room with small kitchen and coffee corner. Take a pleaser
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent quality for the price

Posted Dec 15, 2016
This well-located hotel, well within the government rate cap, offered everything I wanted. My room was large and bed king-size. comfortable, and covered with a down comforter. The decor, apparently Chinese antiques lining the corridor, was attractive. Staff was attentive and polite. Breakfast was delicious and made to order ... not a buffet. The hotel was much superior, in all these ways, to the place where I had regularly stayed before. If there was anything at all to complain about it was electronics. The free internet was a bit slow and the TV, strangely, had only analog channels on a modern flat-screen; they did not correspond the ordinary local channel list and some of them showed quite poorly. I don't watch TV much, and so did not ask if this was the result of my failure to understand the system, or a room fault that could be fixed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Love the Lombardy!

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Unique room layout, décor and charm.
Cons: Check in staff were mediocre this time around, but generally staff are great.
Location: Can't beat the location - walking distance to the White House.
This quirky hotel has lots of charm and is in a fantastic location. Whether you drink or not, a visit to the bar is a must.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Quaint Little Place

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Nice hotel in downtown D.C. near foggy bottom. Small, but comfortable room, very clean. Quit and comfortable, very near the Kennedy Center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Nice hotel to hide away for a few days...

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Check out the experience above...also, loved the robes you can use!
Cons: They need bath mats and at least one hand rail for the bath.
Location: It's on Pennsylvania Avenue near lots of things to do!
This was my first stay at this hotel, and I picked over Thanksgiving. I checked in Wednesday and checked out Saturday. The bed was very comfortable, loved the mini-kitchen with a fridge to use, also a dressing area. The room and 1920 furnishings were lovely. The only thing that the room didn't have was a view - all windows faced the newly built building next door and I couldn't see the sky at all - but, it didn't bother me. The real porcelain deep tub/shower was great EXCEPT they need to offer a rubber mat for the bottom of the tub, as well as at least one hand rail. I took a lovely bath in the deep tub, and while I am not old/decrepit/infirm, it wasn't easy to get out of the tub...and with showers, the bottom just gets too slippery. The room service was top notch - quick, and delicious food, and I thought the prices were just fine. They did a wonderful turkey dinner for Thanksgiving that was above and beyond the usual! The only issue I have is that when I went to order room service for Friday night (day after Thanksgiving), I was told that the restaurant was closed - weird! However, I just ordered food with grubhub, so, no big deal, but, I did find that strange that the restaurant would be closed on a Friday night. However, I could have ordered "bar food".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older, nice hotel close to the White House.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: The rooms were very spacious and clean.
Cons: The service was not that great. The doormen seemed to never be around when you needed them.
Location: Close to the White House and metro stops.
I had to go to DC for business and my wife decided to come along to check out all of the things DC has to offer. This hotel worked out great for us because it was in the heart of DC. I had a short metro or cab ride to the office and my wife was able to go all over DC and come back to the hotel to relax whenever she wanted. There are also several good restaurants in the immediate area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location, historical, but bad view.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Great location to all down town activities and resturants. It was historical and cute.
Cons: Not very big, my view was a brick wall and there was construction at 7am, it also could have used a new rug.
Location: White house was very close, many resturants were within walking distance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Listed on America's Historic Hotels leads one to believe you will be stepping back in time and you do but in s very updated way....beautiful facility and extremely convenient to Grorge Washington facilities. My one complaint was done of the late night construction noise that was totally not the fault of the hotel. Staff were amazingly helpful and accommodating from check in yo check out!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Hotel is nice, convenient to sites, and very clean. Evening staff dropped the ball. We waited 50 minutes for valet services to get our car. We were comped our parking fee for the inconvenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel great location

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Great bed
Cons: Reservations were supposed to be for 2 nights. They only had us for one had to go to a different hotel the 2nd night
Location: Great restaurant founding farmers just 2 blocks away
A nice hotel close to the White House old world charm close to everything