Ratings based on 3,229 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Nice hotel to hide away for a few days...

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Check out the experience above...also, loved the robes you can use!
Cons: They need bath mats and at least one hand rail for the bath.
Location: It's on Pennsylvania Avenue near lots of things to do!
This was my first stay at this hotel, and I picked over Thanksgiving. I checked in Wednesday and checked out Saturday. The bed was very comfortable, loved the mini-kitchen with a fridge to use, also a dressing area. The room and 1920 furnishings were lovely. The only thing that the room didn't have was a view - all windows faced the newly built building next door and I couldn't see the sky at all - but, it didn't bother me. The real porcelain deep tub/shower was great EXCEPT they need to offer a rubber mat for the bottom of the tub, as well as at least one hand rail. I took a lovely bath in the deep tub, and while I am not old/decrepit/infirm, it wasn't easy to get out of the tub...and with showers, the bottom just gets too slippery. The room service was top notch - quick, and delicious food, and I thought the prices were just fine. They did a wonderful turkey dinner for Thanksgiving that was above and beyond the usual! The only issue I have is that when I went to order room service for Friday night (day after Thanksgiving), I was told that the restaurant was closed - weird! However, I just ordered food with grubhub, so, no big deal, but, I did find that strange that the restaurant would be closed on a Friday night. However, I could have ordered "bar food".
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older, nice hotel close to the White House.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: The rooms were very spacious and clean.
Cons: The service was not that great. The doormen seemed to never be around when you needed them.
Location: Close to the White House and metro stops.
I had to go to DC for business and my wife decided to come along to check out all of the things DC has to offer. This hotel worked out great for us because it was in the heart of DC. I had a short metro or cab ride to the office and my wife was able to go all over DC and come back to the hotel to relax whenever she wanted. There are also several good restaurants in the immediate area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location, historical, but bad view.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Great location to all down town activities and resturants. It was historical and cute.
Cons: Not very big, my view was a brick wall and there was construction at 7am, it also could have used a new rug.
Location: White house was very close, many resturants were within walking distance
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Listed on America's Historic Hotels leads one to believe you will be stepping back in time and you do but in s very updated way....beautiful facility and extremely convenient to Grorge Washington facilities. My one complaint was done of the late night construction noise that was totally not the fault of the hotel. Staff were amazingly helpful and accommodating from check in yo check out!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Hotel is nice, convenient to sites, and very clean. Evening staff dropped the ball. We waited 50 minutes for valet services to get our car. We were comped our parking fee for the inconvenience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel great location

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Great bed
Cons: Reservations were supposed to be for 2 nights. They only had us for one had to go to a different hotel the 2nd night
Location: Great restaurant founding farmers just 2 blocks away
A nice hotel close to the White House old world charm close to everything
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

location, location , location

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Good bed, linens and shower. But the hotel is depressing and the rooms are terribly small
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Binghamton, NY

Quaint hotel, good location

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: The staff, the atmosphere and the location.
Cons: Room maintenance.
Location: Not far from the White House and main attractions.
A lovely, quaint hotel at a good location. Only a couple of issues with the room: a maintenance man had to come twice during our three-day stay to fix the shower and the illumination in the bathroom was dismal. We could hardly use it after dark. Another "picturesque" detail: there was a mini-fridge and a coffee maker next to the toilet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Decent location, good value. I appreciate the historical ambience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Ask for soft pillows

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: European charm.
Cons: the pillows!
Location: Great restaurants (Founding Farmers, Circa,District Commons). Foggy Bottom metro is 2 blocks away. Walking distance to white house and mall.
This was our second stay at Hotel Lombardy. This is a charming, European-style hotel located very conveniently in foggy bottom. Two small criticisms this time around: 1. the pillows on the bed were so firm that the first night i couldn't sleep at all. Softer pillows are in the closet, so use them! 2. Our floor was incredibly creaky, which is not really a big deal, just a bit weird. Would stay here again,