Ratings based on 577 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MD

Large rooms...great staff

Posted Jan 21, 2017
We stayed here for the inauguration. The staff was absolutely amazing. They have great coffee bar. Our only complaint...it was a bit hot in our room. Other then that...great place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very convenient and competitive price

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Very competitive price and convenient location, spacious room. But hot shower didn't work and vending machine was broken (money didn't come back). Also, very close to a fire station so ambulance cars were running all night with silen sound.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D.C.

Decent hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2016
There is no front desk to this hotel for some reason. It's just a small table with a computer and credit card reader. The sheets we had were not clean. They had hair all over them from the previous guests. I only stayed for a night there, but would not go back. You get for what you pay for I guess.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by Tylor, Hotel Management
Hi Liz, thank you for taking the time to review us! I would like to personally apologized for the sheets. I will speak with housekeeping about this, as our number priority is guest comfort.Other than that, I hope you enjoyed your time in the city! Happy New Year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

In the Middle Of DownTown DC

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: The Room Was very Big I loved it
Cons: free breakfast would be nice
Location: In the middle of Downtown DC lots of things in walking distance
Nice hotel the parking is a little far and they were working on the water so that was shut off b4 check out but other wise very nice and different hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by Tylor, Hotel Management
Shanny, thank you for taking the time to review us! Our parking garage was under construction when you visit but we now have it back and do not have to walk soo far! We will be adding breakfast at the end of 2017! Please come back and see us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to event I was in town for.

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Staff was helpful. I found it odd however that instead of saying the elevator was broken they said it is turned off on weekends. Causing paying customers to have to walk three flights of stairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Tylor, Hotel Management
Hi there, thanks for the review. I am sorry we gave false information about the elevator! I will speak with the front desk team about this. Other then that, I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best deal for the price!

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Location: Great!
Always stay a 5 star hotels in Washington D.C at a cost of 250-320 per night. I was offered the Red Lion through American Airlines and decided to take them up. I figured I was not going to get a large room, nice bed or the other services offered by a Marriott or brands. Contrary, the rooms were large, clean, beds King size, biggest work desk I ever seen with plugs, free internet. The rooms also come with a living room area with couch, chairs and tables. Bathrooms were clean with plenty of towels. " Older tiles and tubs" but clean and nice throw back. Iron board, safe, fridge. The area is near the metro and smack in the center of D.C. The Irish pub next door had great food and entrance to your hotel. A CVC was near, Macy's, Italian, and much more. Great place for the money if all you need is a place to sleep after a full days work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by Tylor, Hotel Management
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review us! Our hotel is definitely a bargain with out the bargain service! Each of our employee's take pride in their work! We are soo happy we exceeded your exceptions and we hope you will come back and visit us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

cozy, comfy & great location

Posted Dec 18, 2016
I didn't realize this was the same hotel I stayed in 3 years ago while touring the DC attractions, great then and great now. Cozy hotel, excellent location, walking distance to the White House (5 minute drive) and other sight seeing attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by Tylor, Hotel Management
I am soo happy you enjoyed us as much as you did 3years ago! Please do not wait that long to visit us again! Happy New Years!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and in a great location to the National mall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by Tylor, Hotel Management
Hi Dee, thank you for your kind words! We hope you will come back and visit us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: the room was larger than expected.
Cons: Ice machines are needed.
Location: We were surrounded by restaurants, clothing stores and public transportation.
The hotel has was excellent. No complains offered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by Tylor, Hotel Management
Julia, thank you for your review! Our rooms are bigger then most hotels in the DC area! We also do have 1 ice machine located on the 5th floor. We hope you enjoyed your time with us and exploring the city!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gilbert, Az

Comfy hotel close to sites yet off the beaten path

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Loved this hotel...I was close enough to walk to everything yet didn't feel like I was too touristy. The only drawback was a lot of restaurants were closed on the weekend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by Tylor, Hotel Management
Amy, thank for taking the time to review us! Our location is great for being a tourist and it allows for easy walking to all the sites! But with our location, we are in the "business district" and many shops and restaurants are closed on the weekends due to most businesses are Mon-Fri. Other then that, we hope you enjoyed your stay with us! Come back and see us soon!