Ratings based on 1,608 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Good hotel very near the Metro

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Location - Bethesda is a very nice place to stay
Cons: The hotel should have a swimming pool - as I understood it once had I did not see any visitor information
Location: Almost on top of Bethesda Station. Good choice of restaurants nearby
We stayed for a week on a leisure trip to DC. It was my 5th visit to the city and I wanted a hotel convenient for the Metro
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by Matt K, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MD

Nice hotel when not under renovation

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Convenience, comfort, friendly staff.
Cons: The room seemed a bit small for what it was.
Location: Location is excellent, right above the public transportation. There is a Morton's Steakhouse and The Daily Grill on premises.
Overall, the hotel is quite nice. The room is clean and the bed is comfortable and firm. It was unfortunate that the hotel was under renovation, but once it's completed it should be fine; that's the reason for my 2 rating for hotel condition.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by Matt K, Hotel Management
Dear Earl, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you staying with us and hope you're able to come back again and see our fresh new look. Kind Regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bethesda, MD

UNDER CONSTRUCTION

Posted Jul 25, 2016
This hotel will be very nice once the construction is finished. I was not aware that there was going to be extensive internal construction going on. Stayed here on a Friday night and was woken up at 8am Saturday morning by jackhammers and crashing noises. One of the other guests said he heard construction start even earlier. The staff was very kind and my room, while not huge, was clean and elegantly furnished. Would postpone staying here till January or whenever construction is done.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by Max B. Guest Relations Associate, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear that the construction was disturbing during your stay, but glad that you enjoyed the other aspects of our hotel. We would love to welcome you back after we are finished with the renovations for a better experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NO POOL, WAS NOT ADVISE THAT UNDERCONSITUCTION

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Cons: HONESTY
VERY VERY UNHAPPY WILL NOT RECOMMEND TO OTHERS CAN'T BELIEVE HOW DISAPOINTING MY STAY WAS. NOISEY, ELEVATORS DID NOT WORK LOST CABLE FOR TV FIRST NIGHT. CONSTRUCTION WORKERS WERE COME IN ALL DAY TO HOOKUP SOMETHING OR OTHER. JUST BAD!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by Matt K, Hotel Management
I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced. We are working diligently to continue to improve the experience and are beginning to release brand new guest rooms. We hope you have an opportunity to give us another chance and see our new look in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Solana Beach, CA

Construction zone headaches

Posted Jul 20, 2016
The hotel needs a face-lift so I understand construction is necessary. Unfortunately, this wasn't disclosed when I booked. Aside from the location there isn't a positive comments I can share.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Matt K, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're excited to say that we will have all new guest rooms and public areas by the end of summer. We hope you're able to come see our new look in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chapel Hill, NC

Difficult Stay at Hotel under Construction

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Honestly, not much. The front desk staff were decently helpful, but not very understanding about our complaints, particularly about parking.
Cons: Disclose information about construction and fees to potential guests, BEFORE they book a stay. Also, please clean rooms properly. It is not that hard.
My partner and I were in Bethesda on an apartment hunting trip because we are relocating for my work. We arrived at the Hyatt only to find that everything- the hotel, the lobby, the business center, AND the parking garage- was under construction. Intense, noisy construction from 8 AM to 9 PM, daily. If I had known about this beforehand I never would have booked our stay there. The parking lot was caked in dust and dirt from the heavy construction and covered in construction equipment that made parking difficult. But without another choice we had to park and pay the hotel $22.50 a day for the privilege. When we asked what the construction was for, we were told that they were "beautifying" the garage- quite a lot of nuisance just to increase the aesthetic appeal! As for the hotel itself, we were awakened every morning by the sound of jack hammers and drills. Nothing, not the construction or the exorbitant price of parking was disclosed on their website or on Expedia before we booked. Further, the staff, while generally helpful, was wholly unapologetic about the noise and the fees. Coming back to a noisy hotel and parking in a dusty garage under active construction made the whole trip miserable. If that wasn't enough, on the second day we found dried gummy bears in our pillowcases. I don't think the room was really cleaned at all! We were glad to leave and could not check out soon enough! I strongly advise you to reconsider staying at this location if at all possible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Matt K, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize for the concerns you experience due to our improvements. We will have new rooms available within the next week and will have all new rooms by end of the summer. I also apologize for the issues with the parking garage. Unfortunately; the garage is not owned or operated by the hotel and they are also completing much needed enhancements. We look forward to their conclusion as this is the closets parking option to the hotel. Thank you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel under construction

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Not informed of the construction. Pool is gone. If staying for business I wouldn't recommend it. If for a place to stay for family vacation where you will be out all day then this is an ok hotel. The water was shut off during the day and the construction was very loud after 7 am until 5pm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2016 by Matt K, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I apologize for any inconvenience regarding our modernization. We have made great progress and look forward to debuting all new guest rooms very soon. We hope you're able to come back and see us in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2016
The hotel was under construction and we were put on the 3rd FL. The room smells horrible and there was no cold water after 9:30 in the morning without any notice. Fire alarm rings out every morning. ... Very bad experience in this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by Matt K, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I sincerely apologize for the concerns you experienced. This is not typical and our management team has addressed to ensure these issues do not repeat. We hope you're able to come back and able to give us another chance in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Clemente, CA

Hotel Under Construction

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Convenient Location
Cons: Loud, early construction work on remodel; few rats on grounds around hotel; professional staff
Call me silly, but I think a hotel should have to tell you they are under construction for a remodel when you book a reservation with them. This place was awful. No clear signage on where the lobby entrance was, the entire atrium of the hotel is blocked off with plastic...walking down the hall to the room is like being in quarantine. Front desk staff was unhelpful. When I asked where I could get a drink (it was after 10pm and everything in the hotel was shut down), they provided me the name of the place, but said "you'll have to look on your phone how to get there." They also failed to warn about the rampant rat infestation in the grounds immediately surrounding the hotel. Then, the construction work began at 8am, with hammering in a room adjacent. The rooms are dated and clearly need the remodel that is underway...they've just taken no steps whatsoever to accommodate current guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2016 by Matt K, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were not made aware of our property improvements. We do have an outline of our current schedule on our website. We have made great improvements and look forward to debuting new rooms and public spaces very soon. Thank you for staying with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Convenient to metro
Surprised to find the hotel undergoing a complete interior and exterior renovation, severely limiting services and facilities - with no reduction in rate! Inequitable to say the least.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Matt K, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the concerns you experienced due to our property improvements. Our current rates are priced below most of our competition due to our ongoing projects. We hope you are able to give us another chance in the future.