Ratings based on 2,033 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
The staff was great. The hotel is in the heart of downtown DC. It was easy to walk anywhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Rises to adequacy

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Poorly trained staff. Holliday Inn comfort at Ritz prices
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Awet Sium, Hotel Management
Dear Buck, Thank you for the review of Kimpton Donovan. I am sorry your experience was less than pleasant. Happy to discuss further. Best regards, Awet Sium General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location and great staff

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: customer service
The Kimpton Donavan Hotel has outstanding staff members in all departments.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Dragan Andrejic, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you kindly for the outstanding review. I'm happy that you loved our hotel and our team. All the best. Dragan
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great vibe

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Friendly check in staff, Lobby a bit tired looking but well set up for socializing around complimentary daily happy hour and am coffee. Rooms nice, not luxurious but very well equipped. Leopard print terry bathrobes !! Would return for the atmosphere
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Awet Sium, Hotel Management
Hi Sue, Thanks for the 4 star review. We look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Awet General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great location!

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Loved our stay! Only complaint was that our room was too hot. Even after trying to adjust thermostat, it never seemed to cool off.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Dragan Andrejic, Hotel Management
Dear Elaina, Thank you for the 5-star review. I will do my best to and see that our AC units are up to our high standard. See you soon. Dragan Andrejic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great, quiet, nice view

Posted Feb 6, 2017
I've stayed at other Kimpton hotels before, but this one is great, quiet, and has a nice view over looking Thomas circle. The room has a Japanese zen feel, and was super relaxing for some much needed R and R. Lance at the front desk was also really awesome, very welcoming and genuine. He also made great recommendations on nearby coffeeshops.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Dragan Andrejic, Hotel Management
Thank you Alex, I will be sure to hug Lance today. I hope we can welcome you back very soon. Regards, Dragan
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Be ready for extra charges at every turn!

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: The rooms were very modern and there was free wine tasting in the evening.
Cons: More transparency in pricing. EVERYTHING comes at an additional price, and no price is as it seems! (see review above)
The hotel is in a great location and certainly offers everything you need. However, EVERYTHING comes at an additional price, and no price is as it seems! For example, when I arrived at the hotel, the parking was advertised as $44 a night. I was later charged $56 a night. Expedia charges you a lower price but then the hotel charged me a $21 per day "destination fee" in addition to the price I had already paid on Expedia. Moreover, I checked out a day early, and the hotel charged me an extra night of hotel parking and their "destination fee". I was on the phone with them for an hour, explaining how there was an extra $80 charge to my credit card (I knew the charge was wrong because they charged my card a day later). They did not believe me at first, and I had to call several times for them to resolve the issue. I found the lack of respect for transparency in pricing absolutely unethical.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Dragan Andrejic, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I see from your review that your experience was far the best one. Please reach out to me so I can do my best and try to change your impressions of our hotel. Regards, Dragan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best stay I ever had

Posted Jan 30, 2017
The stay was just perfect. It starts with the location, continues with the view, the bed and the bath and everything. I enjoyed it so much and would just like to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by Dragan Andrejic, Hotel Management
Thank you, I love to read when our guests have the best stay ever :) See you soon, Dragan Andrejic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Class and comfort

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Stayed here for the Inauguratiion. Room was stylish and comfy. Location was outstanding. I have to say, the staff was outstanding. At check in, it was obvious that different guests had very different reasons to be in town. I saw the staff treat everyone with genuine warmth and excitement. A gang of rioters ran past the lobby entrance as we were trying to enter, and the doorman took a very protective stance, ensuring only registered guests could enter. Smart and customer-focused. Really a great experience. We look forward to returning over the next 8 years! Ps there's a complimentary wine hour in the lobby at 5pm!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Dragan Andrejic, Hotel Management
Dear Wheatenwarrior, I'm happy that you had and lovely time with us. Thank you for the compliment for our doorman team. They are the face of this hotel :) See you soon. Dragan Andrejic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Great location near lots of transportation

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Hotel needs to focus on small details to take them to the highest level. Paint touch ups are messy and caulk in bath is not professional. HK misses the small details.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Dragan Andrejic, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, Thank you kindly for constructive criticism... I love when our guests have an eye for improving. I will defiantly follow up with our maintenance team and share your comments. All the best Dragan Andrejic