Ratings based on 1,922 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very clean and comfortable.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Close to many sights and restaurants.
Nice and clean. Good amenities and features. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Location.. close to restaurants, bars.. Walking distance
Cons: Clean.. coffee & tea at the room.. hair shower cap..
Location: Restaurants, bars, cafes.. 15min walk to the White House and mall..
People were smoking in the room.. not so clean.. marks on the bathroom and dust on the table etc.. Location was good for us..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great service and attention

Posted Oct 21, 2016
The hotel is modern and well-appointed. Very professional and welcoming staff. When we returned from our day long meeting after the Wine Happy Hour was already over to pick up our room keys, the front desk representative got glasses of wine for all of us and offered us the last 3 cupcakes. A nice gesture after a tiring day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Contemporary and Comfort

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, clean room, comfort and contemporary vibe.
Cons: For the price point, the burn mark in the carpet should have been resolved.
The hotel staff were amazing. I arrived very late and tired and they identified me and got me into my room promptly. The room was comfortable, very contemporary and chic, very comfortable. There was a strange circle on the carpet that looked like a burn mark or something that was a bit distracting, but otherwise, I have no complaints. The location is in a great area--close proximity to 14th street where there are so many options for interesting eats. I would stay again and in fact told my husband that we should stay, so that he could experience it, during our next trip to DC.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scranton, PA

Fantastic hotel and staff

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Staff was very very helpful. Above and beyond
Cons: Parking was over $100 for 2 nights? And a $20 destination fee? So we payed to stay and park and then had to pay because we drove there??
Location: It was in DC. Walking distance to just about everything
Amazing customer service. Appealing room decor and set up. Parking was kind of expensive though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't bother.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Small rooms, uneducated staff and hidden charges. Get to a hotel across the street, much better service and facilities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Not really worth the money.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
I expected the Donovan to be very high end for the price. But the room was not well cleaned, requests to the front desk we not addressed expeditiously and the overall hotel was quite dingy. For example, the pool area had cooking equipment that was exposed to guests, and they were greasy and the area around them was dirty. Seat cushions were dirty, and surface areas were not wiped down after guests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Hotel Design bien situé

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Hotel Design bien situé dans Washington pour les visites des musées, à proximité de la maison blanche. Chambre très agréable et spacieuse avec une belle salle de bain. Piscine et bar sur le toit. Un restaurant japonais attenant au restaurant sert aussi de bons petits déjeuners. Durant notre séjour, l'hotel proposait une dégustation gratuite de vin (blanc, rouge, rosé) avec de petits snacks japonais tous les jours de 17 à 18h: très sympa. Seul petit bémol, la piscine ferme tôt pour faire place au bar à partir de 18h, et l'accès des moins de 21 ans n'est pas possible, ce qui est dommage lorsque l'on voyage, comme nous, avec des ados. Sinon, tout est parfait.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from saudi

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Towels were not replaced Otherwise nice hotel Room was only cleaned on demand
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Good for our city break

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Clean friendly hotel. 10 mins walk from metro. Places to eat a walk up 14th. Short taxi ride to Georgetown. 15 min walk to the White House. Kids loved the roof top pool but a bit small and busy for parents.