Ratings based on 1,409 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Good lobby service nice very good place to stay good location it was great experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by shanella V, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for staying at The Kimpton George hotel and for this awesome review. Come back and see us! Best, Shanella Shanella Venketasamy Assistant Front Office Manager The Kimpton George Hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location Excellent service

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
Room very comfortable. Service excellent. Restaurant excellent. Parking directly across the street. Some amenities like an umbrella and yoga mat available in the room. Only down side was that the spacious well stocked and appointed bathroom had a pocket door that did not close snugly at all leading to minimal privacy. I was staying with friends, not family so could be a little awkward. Otherwise, very enjoyable and very close to Union Station, Capitol Hill, the mall, and the museums.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Shanella V, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review. Sorry to hear about the door in the bathroom and your feedback was passed along the department in charge, but I am glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay regardless. We hope to have you back very soon. best, Shanella Shanella V Assistant Front Office Manager The Kimpton George Hotel
5 out of 5
by Steven

Comfortable and high quality in the middle of town

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
My second time staying at the George and it is overall a great hotel. Great location to Union Station, the national mall, and museums. Rooms are very modern and comfortable. Only bad thing was that on my second and most recent stay there was a foul stench coming from the bathroom plumbing. I would have changed rooms (I called the front desk about it and they were willing to switch me immediately) but I was exhausted and just stayed in the room. The first time I stayed (October 2016) there was nothing to complain about. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by Shanella V, Hotel Management
Hello Steven, Thank you for being with us again and for taking the time to write this awesome review. I am so sorry to hear that your stay was not up to par this time due to the smell, but I am glad we were able to offer you to move. We hope to see you soon here at The Kimpton George Hotel. Cheers, Shanella Shanella Venketasamy Assistant Front Office Manager The Kimpton George Hotel
5 out of 5
by Gerri

Great Getaway!

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Great location to Union Station and Metro subway and #80 bus to Showtime Lounge to see Granny and the Boys. Safe neighborhood and good on-street parking. Just wish bathroom had a few more towel hanging hooks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Gerri, Thank you for staying at The Kimpton George Hotel and this amazing review on our location and neighborhood. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, hope to see you soon. Best, Shanella Shanella Venketasamy Assistant Front Office Manager The Kimpton George Hotel
5 out of 5
by Susan

Will always try to stay at a Kimpton - the BEST!

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
I LOVE Kimpton hotels and always try to stay in one wherever I'm travelling. We love the uniqueness and quirkiness of each hotel vs. chains that are all the same. We know the quality will always be top-notch. We love that Kimpton is dog friendly, even though we don't always travel with our 4-legged friends and we love that you can borrow bikes and we love having a variety of newspapers from which to select. The George in Washington, DC had some of the BEST FOOD in the BIS Bistro that we have ever eaten. The cocktails and the Beef Bourgouignon (SP?) were unparalleled in quality. Staff at Kimptons are always friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Susan, Thank you for staying at The Kimpton George Hotel and for taking the time to write this wonderful review on our hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the bistro food is to die for, so delicious! Come back and see us soon! Cheers, Shanella Shanella Venketasamy Assistant Front Office Manager The Kimpton George Hotel
4 out of 5
by Troy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Our room's heat was broken so the service people had to fix the heat while my husband was taking business calls in the room. They were very rude and interrupted our stay for the first day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you very much for staying at The Kimpton George hotel. I am so sorry for the inconveniences you've faced with the heat and the maintenance staff. I hope you will give us a second chance the next time you're in DC. Best, Shanella Shanella Venketasamy Assistant Front Office Manager The Kimpton George hotel
5 out of 5
by Larry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Courtney

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay!!

Posted Feb 12, 2017
We stayed at The George for one night while visiting DC and we absolutely loved it! The room was spotless and the entire experience was amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Shanella V, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Kimpton George Hotel and for writing this wonderful review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Come back and see us. Cheers, Shanella Shanella Venketasamy Assistant Front Office Manager The Kimpton George Hotel