Ratings based on 1,289 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Nice hotel Good location

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Close to the metro, sight sering buses. And capitol. I recomend it
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Awesome hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Very nice staff, accommodating and efficient. Rooms very clean and the decor is nice, reflecting its name The George!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NV

Close to the Capitol

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Excellent service and nice room. Great location near the Capitol, Union Station and Georgetown Law.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean but HOT

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Very clean and location
Cons: Communication with guests
Location: In the heart of downtown DC.
Called hotel to let them know we would be checking in late. When we arrived, desk attendant said the air conditioning would be off for 12 hours a day for maintenance. Why didn't they let me know when I called earlier? We checked in for the night, but awoke at 7am with the room at 80 degrees (8th floor). We checked out and thanks to Expedia we received a credit!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

One night stay for business trip

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Very convenient, near Union Station. They charge $20 as a non-optional extra fee - mildly annoying. Also, hallways not air-conditioned in super high heat and humidity isn't a good idea. Otherwise, room was very comfortable, and I slept well. Great bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Assistant Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Eddie, Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. I am very sorry for the inconvenience you faced with the air condition. We hope to have you back with us. Cheers! Shanella Assistant Front Office Manager.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Nice hotel, good location to Capitol Hill and Union Station. Good hotel room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by Shanella venketasamy , Hotel Management
Hi Thank you for staying with us and for mentioning our location. Come and see us again! Cheers! Shanella Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Un muy buen Hotel con una excelente ubicación.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Cuando llegamos al hotel la verdad es que no sabíamos bien la ubicación, pero cuál va siendo nuestra sorpresa que está a solo 2 cuadras del Metro y a 4 cuadras del Capitolio, súper bien ubicado. El hotel está muy amplio y el sofá cama nos ayudó mucho ya que éramos 5 personas en la habitación.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Shanella Venketasamy, Hotel Management
Hi Thank you so much for being with us and for this amazing review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the sofa bed was helpful to you all. Thank you for mentioning our location. Hope to see you soon. Cheers! Shanella Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston Ma

Nice and clean hotel, perfect for my family, good

Posted Jul 18, 2016
I recommend this hotel, nice reception, quiet and very clean, this was perfect to my family, 2 adults and 2 kids, it's perfect location
Comment from Hotel Management
by Shanella Venketasamy, Hotel Management
Hi Lindomar, Thank you for staying at The George, a Kimpton hotel and for this wonderful review. I am so happy that you all had fun during your stay. Hope to see you soon! Kind regards, Shanella Assistant Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Convenient but not luxurious

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: Staff was friendly.
Cons: Lots! Needs to constantly reevaluate to maintain luxury status.
Location: Easy access to Capitol.
The George is a boutique style hotel. Check in was simple. The vibe was friendly, the decor was unique, and staff was helpful. However, the rooms were small. The shower was very small- when it didn't need to be! There was an additional foot that they could have extended the shower to make it a normal size. The linens were worn down and need to be replaced. I despise rough towels and sheets that are starting to be threadbare. The wallpaper is starting to peel and the carpeting has that damp smell. To spend almost half a grand per night and for the management not to continue to evaluate and improve things like that... I'd much rather spend the extra money for the Ritz or the Mandarin! Sorry, but I would not recommend.
5 out of 5
by Karen

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
Super friendly staff! The bistro food was great. Proximity to the capital and transit was excellent. About 15-20 min walk to all the museums but you will pass green spaces and memorials all along the routes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Shanella V, Hotel Management
Hi Karen Thank you for the awesome review, I'm happy to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us. Bistro food is delicious. We are indeed close to the major attractions. Come back and see us! Cheers! Shanella Shanella Venketasamy Assistant Front Office Manager The George, a Kimpton hotel