Ratings based on 962 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Awesome Room

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Enjoyed the proximity to alll attracrions and transit. Dynamic trendy food choices surround the area. Hotel staff attentive and knowledgeable
Cons: Common areas need more attention.
Location: Great. Area to shop dine and see attractions of our nation's capitol.
We were pleasantly surprised to find such a spacious room. Well furnished with comfortable furniture and comfortable beds. Spacious closet with large vanity area. Balcony opened to street view of various buildings in a delightfully active part of DC.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not much value for your money!

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: The staff is very pleasant.
Cons: More amenities.
The staff was very friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. There is that moldy smell in the hallway, though. The lobby is very small, it is smaller than the lobby in my queens apartment building. The hotel lacked amenities, there was no gym or pool. Which is very poor for a $400 room/night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tegucigalpa

very nice hotel in a hip neiborhood.great location

Posted Sep 26, 2016
great location, loved the neiborhood. Our roon mas comfortable and nice. our A/C did not cooled the room as it should, this was late september but still hot and humid in Dc.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L.A.

Comfortable Hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Staff.......nice room with a balcony.....
Cons: Well run hotel.
Location: Nice restaurants in area and good restaurant/bar connected to hotel......a couple of blocks from Metro.....
Great five day stay....comfortable room with space to spare, although bathroom/shower area quite small.....great closet space and sink area......exceptional staff......highly recommended......for a boutique hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Great location at DuPont Circle, very walkable

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Good restaurants, close to public transportation, and easy walk to the traditional sight-seeing spots. Hotel itself is lovely, their amenities are thoughtfully planned.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Delightful respite!

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: See above.
Location: Grill Fish was a great restaurant.
During two of the hottest days of the summer, we had the wonderful respite of the Kimpton Madera while touring DC. Every staff member we encountered was outstanding - helpful, polite, informative, and accommodating. They were truly the nicest staff we have encountered in a long time. The room was super comfortable, and clean, as well as quiet and restful. Lemon water all day long, morning newspapers, and complimentary wine at the end of the day were excellent perks. The location worked well, too, as this hotel is situated right near the Metro, in Dupont Circle, and is in a neighborhood full of restaurants, and near shopping. We highly recommend this hotel for a visit to the nation's capital. Will also seek out other Kimpton hotels in other cities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel right in the city

Posted Aug 5, 2016
I stayed here for two nights and it was perfect except there's no gym onsite. The gym is at the sister property. Luckily, the rooms are very large so I was able to do a workout in my room without hitting the bed. The bathroom was very spacious as well. Nice stay and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Vibe in a Dupont Circle area of DC.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Decor, fun robes, yoga mat, coffee, wine.
Cons: Take out of the discription that there was a shuttle to the bus. Staff stated they no longer offered it. Ubered it instead...5 minute availability.
Location: Transportation was close, lot ot restaurants, walkablity to White House and the Founding Farmers restaurant.
The place was upbeat from the friendly staff to the pleasing decor. We didn't have the balcony but really were out all day and all evening on the town. Location to great restaurants and transportation; bus, metro and bikes. There was really good coffee available in the morning and wine in the evening...both on the house. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. It was an older building but that had charm and it felt fresh due to the decor. Room was great for sleeping with the room darkening shades, air conditioner was louder and bed was firmer. My personal preference is a softer bed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad but expected better

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Great location close to Dupont Circle.
I expected more from a Kimpton. The hotel was fine if a bit beat up. Even the robes were faded and old. Plus I hated not having a coffee maker in my room. On top of all that, there was an unexpected $20/day "hotel fee" so my "bargain" stay that fit in my budget wasn't such a bargain after all.
5 out of 5
by Jerry from Richmond

National Pasttime

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Wanted a get away to DC and chance to take in baseball games.