Ratings based on 787 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Queen room

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Was not big. Very small room. Not the room shown in the picture provided by Expedia. Misleading. Room was old. No ementies. No tub in the shower as shown in picture. Loud Was shown a suite online that was passed off for a queen. Terrible and disappointing for what I paid
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Loved that we are located right scrubs from the Verizon Center. The area was nice and an easy walk to a lot of things.
Super cool. The decor was just like the pictures we saw online. The room was very comfortable. The front desk was very accommodating . .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bahamas

Excellent Hotel close to everything

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Great hotel. Let us check in early. Room is clean. Restaurant is good. Across the street from Verizon Centre. Within walking distance of most major attractions. I would highly recommend it all round.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maine

Super location!

Posted Oct 6, 2016
It was easy to get to all monuments, the staff was wonderful, the rooms were small but adequate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Less than average hotel with a basement room

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Central location, good staff, and the mini bar
Cons: The soap, shampoo, and body lotion were the worst I have ever had
Location: Centrally located so there are many things to do nearby
I travel to Washington, DC often on business. This is a less than average hotel. The lobby is on the "second floor" with an entire floor of the hotel in the basement. The soap, shampoo, and body lotion have an overpowering scent. If you stay here, you should bring your own. To cap off a disappointing stay, the last morning I was there, the fire alarm kept blaring. This happened twice, and the noise was excruciatingly loud. The positives for the hotel are its excellent location, the agreeable hotel staff, and a well stocked mini bar. It was my first stay at a Kimpton Hotel, and will definitely be my last.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Wonderful hotel! The decor is great and the staff is friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malvern, PA

Good Location, Pay Attention to the Floor

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Resturants, National Gallery of Art, Smithsonian Museums and Verizon Center.
We have stayed at this hotel several times before. It has an excellent location, free evening wine gathering and helpful staff. This trip they gave us a room on the first floor, which is more like a below grade basement with smaller windows and lower ceiling. We have always stayed in the past on what they call the second floor. Second floor rooms are much better, ask for that floor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Wonderful and thought staff❤️

Posted Sep 4, 2016
It is beautiful and even through the restaurant was inder renovation the 24 hour room service is great! Needed a reason to dine in!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location. Great service

Posted Sep 4, 2016
This historic hotel is in a wonderful location-walkable to monuments and museums. The staff couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating. Only problem was that the restaurant was under construction and when we phoned to inquire about it we were told that the construction had not yet started when in fact it was almost complete. I will say that the hotel tries to compensate by serving compliments wine and snack at 5:00 pm daily in the lobby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bham

Well Placed Hotel to Discover Washington DC

Posted Sep 4, 2016
The hotel is well situated for exploring Washington, staff are friendly and helpful. There was no restaurant in operation due to building works however they offered free drink between 5-6pm to compensate. We received a room upgrade from a queen to kingsize which was spacious and designed well. However as it used to be a former post office building the 1st floor I would call a basement. Unfortunately anyone walking past the window had a clear view into the room and as buidling work was going one often had to close draps for privacy. The hotel offered to move to another room but can not help feeling that if you are on level 1 you are always on view. The hotel could improve on the collection room service trays, the record for an items sitting outside a room was over 48 hours. To summarise great location, 1st floor rooms will always be an issue in my mind, would have been nice to be informed building works in progress before booking, and housekeeping needs to improve for a 4 star hotel.