Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great atmosphere.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Awesome experience from check in to check out. Everyone was always welcoming us back and asking us if there was anything we needed. This may sound weird but the hotel smells amazing. Whatever they use for room diffuser smells incredible. Can't wait to come back in the warmer months to take advantage of the pool
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Donte Johnson- GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and posting a review! I like the Kimpton scent, too. Nothing weird about that at all. Pool season is right around the corner. Hope to see you soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Lobby, restaurant, location
Cons: Ensure guests have hot water
Had to wait 3 and 1/2 hours for my room. Some room lights not working. No hot water for one day of my stay - unacceptable. Still waiting to hear from hotel about their response.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Suprised and pleased beyond belief.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Room size, staff, location.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: It's convenient to all of the attractions and things to do nearby are limitless.
I was in D.C. for a sad occasion - a friends memorial - and chose this property because of other friends who were staying there. I was blown away by the quality of the rooms, friendliness of the staff and great location. I will be staying here on all of my future trips to the capital.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Excellent location, hipster neighborhood!

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Very nice boutique hotel. Very friendly staff, nicely designed rooms, quiet and comfortable. Located in the middle of a cool, hipster neighborhood with nice shops, great restaurants, bars & bakeries! Easy walk to The Mall, museums and attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Donte Johnson-GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad you liked the neighborhood and enjoyed your visit to our nation's capital. Rooftop pool season is right around the corner. Come back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Pleasant stay

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Hip vibe, super helpful front desk staff. Clean, spacious room. Will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool hotel in a convenient location

Posted Dec 4, 2016
The Mason & Rook has a hip interior, is dog friendly, and conveniently located. Our room, including the marble-floored bathroom, was spacious, and the walk-in shower was huge. I especially appreciated full-sized bottles of shower amenities (rather than those annoying little 1-1/2 use plastic bottles). "The Radiator," the hotel bar and cafe, is small but very comfortable, and we enjoyed relaxing with some specialty cocktails there. (There's also a patio with a fire pit, but on our visit it was too chilly for that.) I am conservation-conscious and appreciate the motion-sensing lights, but it's a bit disconcerting to suddenly find oneself showering in inky darkness! (Tip: opening the shower door wide will wake the lights back up.) And having a written description of hotel amenities in the room would be nice--it took me a couple of days of searching for my morning caffeine to discover that there was an urn of coffee in the corner of the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location and pet friendly!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: The service
Cons: Bigger parking lot
Location: Great location!
The bellman and the front desk were a pleasure to work with. We had a room on the 9th floor that was quiet and my dog loved the place. Convenient to Whole Foods, 14th street restaurants and Logan Circle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Very nice and beautiful I will always stay there when am in DC
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Great location in upcoming part of DC

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, decor
Location: Restaurants and bars all along 14 th corridor
The hotel is fun and hip and located in a cool area with lots of restaurants and bars within walking distance. The afternoon wine hour and morning coffee were nice touches. The restaurant was a lively place to end our evening. The outside fire pit was an unexpected treat. Only complaints were 1) the dogs (dog friendly is an understatement!) and 2) our room was located above a garbage quad for all the neighboring buildings which was noisy and unattractive. However we spent very little time in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nigeria

Pictures are decieving

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Staff are friendly and polite.
Cons: Quality of amenities offer or reduce your price.
Location: In the center of DC. Its an optimal place if you want to get around DC in a short amount of time.
In my opinion, this hotel is overrated and overpriced. I could have paid less at a local Double Tree and gotten so much more. The pictures in my opinion are a little deceiving. The rooms are bland, and my room was dirty. I had stains warped through my carpet, and my shower curtain had stains on the bottom of the lining. The mattress was so stiff and uncomfortable. I honestly couldn't wait to leave. There is a 20$ a day wifi charge, but the currents are not even strong. The hotel is located in an optimal area, and the setting is very safe. There is one central elevator, that is extremely small. You have to wait minutes before your able to stream upstairs. The customer service here is EXCEPTIONAL! They are very pleasant in mannerism, and are very engaged with ensuring that you are satisfied. I wont stay in this branch again. The facilities are pretty old, with slight cosmetic touches. When your used to a higher quality, its easy to notice imitation.