Ratings based on 1,023 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Alan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by marina from san diego

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
now that the Helix is gone - ill have to come back to the Topaz. great people on staff, great location and great service :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Excellent boutique hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Great location. Short walk to White House. Near Metro stations, too. Friendly staff and clean rooms.
5 out of 5
by Shalom from New York, NY

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
I thought that the hotel was nice and that the room was very nice-looking, comfortable and roomy.
5 out of 5
by Ian from Cleveland, Ohio

Topaz Hotel customer service excelled

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
I had a great experience at the Topaz Hotel in Washington, D.C. for a business trip. Upon arrival, we were told the city was sold out and we had to transfer to one of their sister hotels. They apologized, offered to pay cab fare (it was only 3 blocks away), covered the cost of the first night and provided a complimentary continental breakfast. The other hotel (The Madera) was very nice, great room, and a nice restaurant/bar too. At the Topaz on the second night, I found a nice handwritten note along with a few snacks and fruit waiting for me on the desk apologizing for the previous night. It was the icing on the cake for all of their efforts to make this stay as accommodating as possible. I couldn't have asked for a better customer service experience amidst the difficulty of a sold out city. I am now a huge fan of Kimpton Hotels and will stay at the Topaz next time I am in Washington. Also, it was convenient to walk from N and 17th streets to K and 16th streets where my meetings were held along with all of the tourist sites. Great location near DuPoint Circle and an easy walk from the Metro. Well done, Topaz and Kimpton.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok but pricey

Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
Decent hotel, nice room, but expensive
2 out of 5
by George from California

Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
Room was funky. Had a partition through the middle of it. Could hear very clearly person next door on phone at 2 am. Next night it was loud laughter coming from other side. Not a quiet place. Staff very nice. But breakfast buffet disappeared on second morning. Neighborhood is great. Very near Dupont Circle.
3 out of 5
by Steven from Ottawa

DC stay

Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Hotels
This is a nice hotel, very comfortable, and with friendly reception staff. I have only three gripes: 1. the aircon/heating didn't work properly. My room was very cold, even on the highest setting for heat. 2. the room service is lousy: my breakfast didn't come with salt, pepper etc. or a knife. the quality of food was not great either. And very expensive. Sorry to complain. 3. No tea/coffee facilities in room.
2 out of 5
by Jurgen from Boston, MA

Great location - beware of hidden fees!

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
The location just off Dupont Circle (and next to the Tabbard Inn, one of the coolest/coziest restaurants/bars in DC) is great. The happy hour wine is also very nice. The hotel could benefit from a bit of a refresher - it has been a while. Careful though!! The hotel charges an extra fee even if you fully prepaid your trip. You have to be a Kimpton member to avoid it. Apparently, this is somewhere in the fine print, but I found it shocking and bordering the unethical!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Company Policy

Posted Mar 7, 2016
I had only one credit card and as I was checking in on a Saturday evening, there was a problen with my card. I had already paid for the room on Expedia. They said the hold they wanted to put on my card was for 121.00 (20.00 of that was for an undisclosed Internet fee). I told them I could give them my drivers license and that amount in cash or more cash. The girl at the desk just wouldn't even budge for me. She said it was a company policy. It was so frustrating. I don't like hidden fees and I will not stay at another of this chains properties because they were so willing to dismiss me simply because of a credit card malfunction. Being treated like a cog rather than a valued customer stinks. I work for a company and we travel a good bit. We will not use this chain until this "policy" is changed.