Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super nice, excellent staff and location!!!

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Super nice, excellent staff and location!!! Confortable and clean room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Beautifully decorated cozy hotel!

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Loved the very friendly staff, wine and cheese happy hours, and fresh hot coco in the mornings.
Cons: n/a
Location: Located in a cute residential areas within walking distance to great restaurants & fun attractions. Loved that it was a 10 minute walk to the metro.
Topaz gave us a wonderful experience to celebrate my friends 30th birthday in DC. They we so nice, helpful and went above and beyond to make our experience so pleasant. Nice cozy hotel located in a cute residential areas within walking distance to great restaurants and fun attractions. I would highly recommend them to any of my friends/family!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great locale and the staff couldn't be nicer

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Very spacious and comfortable room. Service was excellent - I liked this hotel quite a lot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable and good location for my travel to DC.

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Location, price, and staff. Complimentary parking for hybrid vehicles.
Cons: My room was clean and comfortable, but was looking a little worn. Complimentary breakfast would be nice too.
Everyone I dealt with on the hotel staff was noticeably very friendly, professional, and helpful. Hotel is in a nice location near Dupont Circle, with plenty of places nearby to eat and drink. The hotel and my room were clean and comfortable, but looking a little worn around the edges, which doesn't really bother me. I will stay at this hotel again when traveling to DC for business.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great potential, but needs work

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Location, nice staff, clean rooms.
Cons: Pay attention to the little details - broken phone, no conditioner.
The room was super clean, and the staff were extra nice. The hotel is self is a bit worn-out - the planned remodel in 2017 should help. The hotel is missing some operational details - my wake-up call didn't come through, and that's because it turned out the phone in my room didn't work. The bottle of conditioner in the shower was empty. I saw another guest heading down the elevator to get a new hair dryer, since the one in her room was broken. These sorts of details are really important to stay on top of. The hotel is in a great location - quiet, pretty street, close to restaurants and my client meeting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

It was as OK

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: Half a block away from Starbucks. There are several bike share docking stations in the area if you like to get around on them.
This was a last minute booking. The rooms are large. The HVAC Was not the best. The room would not get cool enough. The hotel is clean but is showing signs of its age.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Plenty of food and shopping options within walking distance.
I had a child with me and this was a fun hotel for him. Friendly staff, nice continental breakfast. They could have been more diligent in re-stocking the mini bar snacks and we didn't have a room service menu but they eventually provided it. Staff was always helpful and quick to provide guidance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Great feeling, welcoming and homely, great room and the sofa bed area was amazing.
Cons: The in room coffee facility was missing, that's the only negative I have
Location: Great walking distance to a few great bars, food places and also the white house.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient but needing attention

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Large room almost a suite. Comfortable bed good wifi and tv. But a number of flaws, the curtains wouldn't fully close, the electric plugs were in 2 cases falling away from the walls, the loo wouldn't stop flushing, there was no complimentary water. Good staff though. Overall okay but could have been so much better
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

The hotel management has no integrity

Posted Sep 5, 2016
I checked-in to the Topaz Hotel on Saturday, August 27 and engaged their valet service to park my car given the safety concerns of D.C. street parking. When I checked-out the following day, I didn’t notice the damage to my right rear bumper until I got home to Richmond, VA so I called the hotel back the next day and told them that my car’s right rear bumper was scraped and dented by their valet service. After completing an incident report and sending pics of the damage they rejected my claim alleging that the three different valets driving my car did not damage it after viewing their garage’s security camera footage. Maybe they damaged it driving to/from the garage instead of inside it? They refused to give me an opportunity to view the security camera footage myself (if it exists) and refused to reimburse me the expense it will cost me to repair the damage. The general manager has no integrity or code of ethics when she treats a hotel guest like a criminal expecting the guest to prove the hotel did the damage. I guess in D.C., the Kimpton Topaz Hotel’s hospitality best practices follows the Napoleonic Code for guests – guilty until proven innocent! If anyone uses their valet service at the hotel, I would strongly suggest that you do a 360*video of the car with your cellphone and make the GM sign a statement after a walk through indicating if there is any pre-existing damage on the car before using their valet service. Also, check for any damage before leaving.