Ratings based on 1,843 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay in the City

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Spent a great few days with the family at the Loews. Excellent location, great staff, very convenient Starbucks downstairs
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DC Trip

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: dining facilities, room comfort
Upon checking out, no receipt was available and was told expedia would provide it. No receipt from expedia either yet an additional $60 charge appeared on my credit card - no idea what this charge is for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Staff were nice but ineffective with attention to cleaning and stocking the room. If there are 4 towels, 4 towels should be replaced. No extra toilet paper, Asked to have the sofa bed made up and it never was.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2017 by Managing Director, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for submitting a review! It is feedback such as yours that betters aids us in creating a delightful experience for our guests. In an effort to improve our guests experience, I have shared your comments with our Director of Housekeeping. I hope you give us another opportunity to delight you again sometime soon. Thanks, Paul Puzzanghero Managing Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Great location

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Stayed for 6 nights. Great location to explore the sights from. Easy walk to the White House and other attractions. Close to coffee shops and places to eat. Great staff. The only thing that would have made the stay better would have been coffee making facilities in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2017 by Managing Director, Hotel Management
Phillip, Reviews such as your are helpful to maintaining a great stay for our guests. We are happy to see you enjoyed our close proximity to all DC has to offer. I am truly saddened by the inconvenience our lack of coffee makers in the room caused you on your recent stay with us. I would like to invite you back to stay with us and extend you the opportunity to enjoy complimentary coffee delivered to your room by our In Room Dining team. We look forward to delighting you again soon! Thanks, Paul Puzzanghero Managing Director
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service, but somewhat outdated ambiance

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: see above.
Cons: see above.
Rooms: Standard, somewhat worn but elegant. Disappointingly, no views of any Washington landmarks even from the ninth floor, , just a direct view right into the offcie buildings immediately across the street. It still offers a minibar and a nice lobby restaurant. The most outstanding feature of this hotel is its competent and attentive staff,from desk attendants to the courteous and helpful bellman. The front desk quickly changed my room when I found myself unable to sleep with the street light pouring in at night through the curtains (no full ones in any of the rooms, stopped short.) Although the new room still had curtains that did not fully shut out light, the second had blinds which helped. Probably a good choice for a business traveler who needs a high level of servce over charm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2017 by Managing Director, Hotel Management
Dear NP Morgan, Thank you for your informative review! We are happy to see you thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of our staff and we appreciation your feedback on the drapery in our rooms. I apologize for the inconvenience this caused you, but I glad to see we were able to resolve it. We look forward to hosting you again on your next sojourn to DC! Thanks, Paul Puzzanghero Managing Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Very Nice and Safe Feeling with Great Location

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Arrived late morning and they were happy to get us a room before the check-in time which is about 3-4 in the afternoon.
Cons: Overall the only issue I had is the outlets on the night table lamps didn't work upon arrival. There was also some trash in the room trash can.
Location: Close to restaurants, bars, shopping on 14th St and a Whole Foods and CVS. About 5 blocks from the White House and surrounding area.
Very pleased with services and overall amenities of this hotel. Easy walking to many restaurants and about 5 blocks from the White House. Metro station is about 4 blocks from hotel. Overall great location and would stay again. For the record, this hotel is one block from 14th which is considered bar and restaurant row in the heart of DC. Many shops for browsing are also on 14th so it may be a destination itself. Also, about two blocks from a Whole Foods if you want to acquire some groceries or snacks for your stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2017 by Managing Director, Hotel Management
Dear BrianK, Wow! What a wonderful review! You completely nailed all the wonderful advantages about staying here with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Thanks, Paul Puzzanghero Managing Director
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Disappointing

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: They need good managers and supervisors that are aware of the poor condition of this hotel
Location: Not much around it, you need to walk several blocks to see the White House
It is a run down hotel that needs a good upgrading. The paid Wi-Fi service was terrible. We tried to get it but it would not work. we tried talking with the "IT" department several times but you cannot get secure Wi-Fi in this hotel. They kept saying that we got it but our devises kept warning us of securities issues. The front desk was clueless and kept referring us to their IT. The bathroom door had the worst fixing I have ever seen with glue or who-knows-what substance dried out after oozed from the moldings. The restaurant beside it as poorly run as the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Managing Director, Hotel Management
Dear Pichina, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We strive to provide the best possible combination of comfort, quality and value and regret to hear that you did not experience the high service standards we are known for. We are particularly sorry for the noise level and various housekeeping oversights you experienced. We deeply regret to hear you did not receive the superior customer service we pride ourselves on. Providing guests with a memorable, relaxing experience is our highest priority. Your insight is of the upmost importance to us and will be used to enhance our current processes. We greatly value your feedback so we can celebrate our successes and address our challenges as we continue to improve our establishment. We thank you for your time and look forward to regaining your trust in Loews Madison Hotel. Thanks, Paul Puzzanghero Managing Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My feedback

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: The hotel is beautiful and the bars are fantastic.
Cons: Wash bed sheets with different detergent that hypoallergenic.
Me and my colleagues who stayed at Loew's complained of itching due to the sheets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Managing Director, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We strive to provide the best possible combination of comfort, quality and value and will use your comments to improve our guest service. We greatly value your feedback so we can celebrate our successes and address our challenges as we continue to improve our establishment. We thank you for your time and look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Madison Hotel soon. Warm Regards, Paul Puzzanghero Managing Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 11, 2017
Good location. Nice place to stay for a reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Managing Director, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you so much for your wonderful perspective & five star rating. We look forward to hosting you again on your next sojourn to our nations capital. Thanks, Paul Puzzanghero
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mandeville, LA

Close to restaurants and tour busses.

Posted May 11, 2017
Had a wonderful stay and the hotel was a short distance away from the White House and most facilities we wished to visit. Hotel room was very spacious and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Managing Director, Hotel Management
Dear Tina, Exceeding your expectations is our goal- and from your response we are glad we were able to accomplish it. Thank you for the positive feedback. Every day we strive to deliver better service and it is your feedback that allows us to improve. Thank you and we will be sure to recognize the team members you mentioned. Kind Regards, Paul Puzzanghero