Ratings based on 504 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonder boutique hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Wonderful boutique hotel nestled in downtown Alexandria. Valet your car and walk to adorable streets lined with trees and great restaurants and bars. The service and attention to detail and excellence is why I always choose this hotel whenever I can.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by amanda from Princeton, NJ

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely enjoyed our stay - great location, great price, great room & service!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
What a gem in a gorgeous neighborhood. Very clean. High ceilings. White bedding which is my favorite. Attentive staff. Nice gym. Only complaint is the coffee maker (which they will bring if you ask) smelled like bleach. Spa in the basement, can get a massage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2015
I answered your questions. I don't write essays on hotels for business trips. Take it or leave it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location, comfortable accommodations

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
Very clean and comfortable room and bed. Unfortunately, an early morning dumpster emptying right outside our window at 6:00 am was a negative. The location right in the heart of Old Alexandria was ideal. Front desk staff not always very friendly or accommodating. Beautiful courtyard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Alexandria Old Town hotel The Lorien

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Nice hotel, small rooms but found it very disturbing to only have a curtain dividing bathroom from sleeping area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Aaron

Great hotel. Must stay

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
Nothing but great things to say. Kudos
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Fantastic hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: location, atmosphere, smells, sounds, 5 pm free wine hour, and price
Cons: More drawers - a small complaint
Location: Old Town Alexandria is right there! And the metro is 2-3 blocks away and gets you anywhere you need to be.
My wife and (early 40s) loved Lorien. The atmosphere is wonderful. ice smells and sounds, and the 5 pm free wine hour is fun. Good wine, too! My wife loved the spa, and I loved the location - easy walk to waterfront and only 2-3 blocks to metro station. Wonderful place. There is plentiful street parking in the neighborhood, if you don't mind parking a block or 2 from the hotel. Our only gripe was the lack of a dresser. There were only two nightstands with one drawer each and a desk with 2 shallow drawers. The closet was medium sized, so I wish we'd had more drawer space for a week-long stay. We will definitely stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Yan

Nice room, but pet allowed, and no coffee maker

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
Room comfort and cleanliness: A Room amenities: B (no coffee maker) Styling and decoration: A- (highly subjective) Location: A (easy walk to King St Metro) Pet policy: C (a dog was barking loudly in the room next door, I had to ask for a room on a different floor)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2015 by Tobias, Hotel Management
Dear Yan, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your important feedback. I'm sorry that you got disturbed by a barking dog next door and that we had to inconvenience you with a room move. Please remember that we have complementary coffee makers upon request in addition to out evening wine reception and our coffee service in the morning. I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back for a flawless stay! Sincerely , Tobias
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Old Town convenience. Nice restaurants, great friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2015 by Tobias , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! I'm thrilled that you had an awesome experience and we can't wait to welcome you back. Sincerely, Tobias